SAF v6 (based on LAVF) | Page 240

Discussion in 'Codecs' started by hoborg, April 22, 2011.

  1. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Rips are usually encoded with poor quality. Same goes to many tv broadcasts (you need to remember that they are encoded in real time and same mux has mutliple channels that are sharing the limited bitrate so if there is complex frames on all channels at the same time you are more than likely to see macro blocking and other visual encoding glitches).

    general: if you suspect there is a codec issue then record a sample and play it on a different device. Over 95% of the cases the issue is in the stream itself.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This is my Main HTPC.[DOUBLEPOST=1349869217][/DOUBLEPOST]
    Unfortunately I don't have a separate Freeview tuner (or one built-in to my TV) to compare but I guess others who do can compare with what they see when using MP.

    I don't really have any other devices I could test the rips with either, although maybe I could use my Xbox360.
     
    Last edited: October 10, 2012
  4. Zeppelin

    Zeppelin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 5, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The Broadcaster I showed is 1280x720, which is not that bad of a quality, and also the Free to Air channels here in Germany mostly come also with better bandwidth so I don't see the problem there. As I already said: I definitely can't see the same when watching TV on my Dreambox...

    Edit: @ Doveman:
    Ah ok, thought it would probably be better with a dedicated GPU...
     
    Last edited: October 10, 2012
  5. BrownGhost
    • Premium Supporter

    BrownGhost MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 15, 2008
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +19 / 2
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    Delay not possible need FFDShow..

    i have just install led, and not made passtrough..
    ive set all audio under codex in mediapotal to FFDshow.. but still i cant make audio delay??

    Can some one help me get that to work.. gotten tired for some movies or tv eps, not in synch, i have to re download.. my net speed is no good here..
    i need to just use the delay function, but cant get it to work :(
     
  6. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    I just updated saf614_WIP.exe - Nev fixed some DVD menu navigation issues :)
     
    Last edited: October 11, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  7. niels37

    niels37 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 24, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    how come mp classic runs m2ts file , but as soon i start the movie from within mediaportal 1.3 i get a error............
    cant play avc / ac3 codec.
    I had this problem already before i updated to mediaportal 1.3.
    i always used saf 6
    havent upgraded to saf 6.14 yet.....................but shouldn't need to as mediaportal should play bluray streams out of the box as of mediaportal 1.3.
    What setting should i change?
    thx in advance ;)
     
  8. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Must be in MePo settings. Make sure you select default audio renderer.
     
  9. D3ltoroxp
    • Premium Supporter

    D3ltoroxp MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +207 / 9
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Maybe you must change some settings under Codec and Renderer there are more splitted in 1.3 alpha, maybe the wrong codec is set for this files...

    But i have peoblems with PDVD Codec and some files,

    - takes a long time to start the movies / series
    - only some series start
    - no HD movies, largely regardless of format

    Now i set all to LAV except the TV area, there was the PDVD still. Maybe its another problem with 1.3 alpha because there was more settings for codecs or PDVD have a shot :)
     
    Last edited: October 14, 2012
  10. vgallego65
    • Premium Supporter

    vgallego65 MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 26, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Hello, I have always used SAF codecs with Mediaportal and I am very happy with results. I have install MP 1.3.0 alpha that has LAV filters included. It is still recommended to use SAF with MP 1.3.0 alpha? Which codecs do you recommend for Videos, TV, DVD and Blueray part?
     
  11. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Nothing changed, so use recommended settings :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!