Scythe42's fixes for 1.4.0

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by elliottmc, April 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    Updated 29th April with new build.

    Here is the new thread following on from https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/call-for-tester-for-1-4-0-features-and-fixes.114566/

    To install, extract the two rar files. Stop TV service manually (if using) and then run the mediaportal and then tvengine installers in that order. No need for the TV installer if you are not using TV.

    This installer is current GIT master + the following fixes

    - 0004354: [general] Unable to start MediaPortal on old Intel GPUs (tourettes) - ready for testing.
    - 0003353: [MediaPortal 1] Windows 7 Half & Full Screen problem. (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004104: [MediaPortal 1] Introduce an option to turn reduced speed GUI rendering off, when window is not active (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0002968: [general] Mute icon not shown after stopping playback (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004080: [MediaPortal 1] Speed up starting process (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004345: [Plugins] Race condition in Mini Display Plugin on Suspend/Resume events (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003992: [Movie Player] When MP1 is put in the tray from fullscreen, playback continues (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004084: [MediaPortal 1] Rework S3/S4 handling in regards to automatic resume (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004334: [MediaPortal 1] Volume Handler gets destroyed/is unresponsive after disconnecting HDMI (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004074: [Topbar] Navbar doesn't vanish when mouse cursor is hiding (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004068: [general] Remove of S3 Hack (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003942: [MediaPortal 1] Screen shifted up by 6 pixels upon resume from sleep (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003993: [general] When switching from movie playback to the mini player GUI elements are wrong positioned. (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004107: [Topbar] Mouse doesn't hide when activated the navbar and than an icon on basic home (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003995: [Movie Player] Fullscreen/Windowed switch during playing results in wrong form dimensions (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003994: [general] Mouse pointer not visible (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0004121: [Skin Engine] Compensate for different DPI settings than 100% in Skin Engine (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003734: [MediaPortal 1] ToLower() method fails if Turkish culture is used in Windows (maybe some other countries as well) (Scythe42) - merge pending.
    - 0003983: [MediaPortal 1] Add Functions in guilib create a Division by Zero Erro (Scythe42) - merge pending.

    - 0004391: [TvPlugin] 'Play' button on remote does not start playback of TV or radio recordings (jameson_uk) - merge pending.
    (this is an extra fix, but tested so no reason to not include it)

    You can see a list of what is already in current GIT master for 1.4.0 here.

    Scythe tells me that there are no show-stoppers with this build. That isn't the same as saying that it is perfect.

    To be completely honest, all we really need to know is whether anything in this build doesn't work as well as 1.3.0. There are so many improvements that we would like to see make it into a release version. In order to do this, we need you to be focused in your testing. So, please don't nit-pick. Please don't report crazy and unrealistic usage scenarios. Please just focus on what is not working that did work (better) in 1.3.0. Or if there really is a show-stopper (crash) then do report it. We don't want to brush anything under the carpet, but equally well we don't want you to challenge yourself to break this by doing crazy stuff.



    Please report all issues with this branch fully. Please restrict your testing/reporting to the above issues and things that could possibly be related. Please don't refer back to the old thread. If you see a problem that you had before, and reported before, please treat it as a new issue so that we keep this thread clean and focused.

    That way, we can get the remaining issues fixed and merged so that this can be included in 1.4.0.

    Mark
     
    Last edited: April 29, 2013
    • Like Like x 16
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Reserved
    Template for report Bug : (copy-past : answer to question)
    - System Specs used :
    - How many displays :
    - What resolution does each display use :
    - More than one GPU used :
    - How are displays connected :
    - How are they positioned :
    - Which one is the primary one : (screen shot of windows setup where you see 1, 2, 3 etc. helps)
    - On which do you start MP :
    - Fullscreen / Windowed
    - Where is the taskkbar positioned of Windows :
    (Screenshot of the whole windows desktop when it is wrong. Not just MP, that does not help me.)
    - Skin Used :
    - Test Build Version :

    GPU Monitoring
    For FPS issue (or all related to Graphic card ) use : GPU-Z for monitoring Activity
    Download : http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2234/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.7.0.html
    How to : http://computer-outlines.over-blog.com/article-gpu-monitoring-58263296.html

    Current Build :
    • Build_001.7z from December 14th 2012
    • Build_002.7z from December 15th 2012 - fixed Hanging on D3D init.
    • Build_003.7z from December 16th 2012 - fixed black screen
    • Build_004.7z from December 17th 2012 - updated WM_DISPLAYCHANGE handling
    • Build_005.7z from January 7th 2013 - removed exclusive fullscreen mode
    • Build_006.7z from January 8th 2013 - removed all D3D device resets
    • Build_007.7z from January 17th - start working on resume/suspend related issues
    • Build_008.7z from January 21st - fixed failure of playing .ts files.
    • Build_009.7z from March 4th - updated to RC, added thread plugin loading/starting
    • Build_010.7z from March 4th - added missing TVPlugin.dll and increased worker threads
    • Build_011.7z from March 4th - fixed high CPU usage during playback
    • Build_012.7z from March 16th - upgraded build to MP 1.3.0
    • Build_013.7z from March 16th - changed startup sequence to avoid a black screen on plugin starting when always on top is enabled.
    • Build_014.7z from April 3rd - added new options to configuration.exe, minor fixes
    • Build_015.7z from April 4th - additional work on suspend/resume, various Mantis tickets.
    • Build_015a.7z from April 5th - forgot a binary in the archive, sorry guys,
    • Build_016a.7z from April 5th - fixed various smaller issues
    • Build_17.7z from April 10th - fixed issue where default font was not loaded
    • Build_18.7z from April 11th - corrected Configuration.exe issue
    • Build_18a.7z from April 11th - fixed autostart regression of Build 18
    • Build_18c.7z from April 16th - sorting out screen selector issues
    • Build_19.7z from April 18th - general update / merged current master into it (BASS rework)
    • Build_19a.7z from April 18th - added missing binaries from BASS rework
    • Build 26/04/2013 : ....
     
    Last edited by a moderator: April 30, 2013
  4. boldie

    boldie Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 30, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    @Scythe42:

    Is it possible to disable the Workaround intorduced in build 18c

    "...I am adding a small workaround in WM_DISPLAYCHANGE checking if the actual resolution changed. The problem is that WM_DISPLAYCHANGE does not report the screen's current refresh rate.".

    Without it I found a way that TMT works together with the Display Refresh Rate Changer of MePo

    Thanks
     
  5. radical

    radical Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +219 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Does it make sense, doing further testing without updating TV-Server installation?
    To prevent a mess, I won't update my dedicated Server in my multi installation.
     
  6. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Probably not. However, I have updated my server and have no problems.

    The main difference here is that on a network client, you will get thumbnails for TV recordings. This wasn't possible before. However, if you haven't updated your server this won't work and you may get errors.

    Has to be worth testing the client if you had specific issues.
     
  7. Scythe42
    • Premium Supporter

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Already removed.
     
  8. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Will I able to update my system to 1.4.0 final after they two rars applyed?
     
  9. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yes. Technically this build is still classed as 1.3.0.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. markus_g

    markus_g Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Not sure if this is by design: If I start a creation of the picture database in Mediaportal configuration and exit I am unable to re run Configuration unless I reboot the computer. It also is much slower now for database/ thumb creation across a network. About 1 sec per file/thumbnail. I haven't tried yet to re run configuration after the thumbnail creation finishes as I have about 22,000 files.
     
  11. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,520
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,251 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi markus, Thumbnail creation is not Scythe work, please post on good thread or open new one, if you find issue.
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/picture-thumbnail-generation-rework.118186/
     
    Last edited: April 19, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!