Sound loss & display problems on refresh rate change | Page 2

Discussion in 'Watch / Listen Media' started by hucknallred, March 4, 2018.

  1. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Well, Intel don't do Win 7 drivers for this model, 10 or nothing, so I'll now look at the madVR fix & report back.


     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    PALHD 50 is my default, sound is lost switching to NTSC 29.997Hz. I will check other videos at different refresh rate.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    OK, I've wiped the NUC & reinstalled Windows 10 from a 2016 ISO. It's all fine now, refresh rate change works, no sound loss, no black screen.
    It seems you can't get Windows 10 to stop updating, I've clicked defer updates, but it still has an update downloaded version 1709 which will go on next time I restart. Is this the update that causes the trouble?
     
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,202 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  6. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I've found a few ways to stop the update going on, I've deleted the downloaded files & changed some group policies. I also have a system image taken in case it sneaks the update through. So no need for any madVR work. Yet.

    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hello again. After another instance of FCU update forcing itself on to my NUC again, I've reinstalled with the previous Win 10 version which has the option to defer FCU for a year, so far so good.
    However, I still have sound loss problems & occasional black screen on TV. I've spent several hours trying to troubleshoot with varying degrees of success, MPAR seems to be a problem sometimes so I've deselected it for the standard HDMI audio out, but it still seems to come back from time to time..

    So, I have just done a test & forced the no sound issue & saved logs. From the end of the log you'll see I've flicked around playing several different videos from around 11:39, you'll see some episodes of Pawn Stars & Robot Chicken played, all of which have sound, I then play an Episode of the Orville at 11:42, this forces a refresh rate switch & then there is no sound.

    Regarding the refresh rate I noticed that when the rate changes, my audio device vanishes for a few seconds - I get a red x on the speaker icon, which goes after a second or so. I suspected that the video started playback when the audio device was "missing", indeed pressing Shift + 1 showed no audio renderer was present. To solve this I installed Qres I created a batch file that switched refresh rate & then waits 3 seconds, I then put a command to run the batch in the Dynamic RR changer box, bypassing the MP changer.

    This seemed to work OK, however looking at the logs it didn't run for The Orville rate switch [edit - I didn't have a 24Hz batch file setup so DRR was used], there is a lot of stuff in the log after this relating to audio so I wondered if you good people could take a look & see if that is the problem, i.e.. no audio device?

    I've also updated my specs in my profile relating to the new NUC.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: March 24, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,202 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Latest future MP version 1.19 Final or the madVR build based on it have something about the audio device removal issue :p
    In fact for some user (more on Intel HD GPU) when DRR kick in the audio device is removed and added back, so we have try to workaround that.
     
  9. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hey Sebastiii thanks for the reply. Have updated to the pre release 1.19 after I posted. Just had the problem on a video, but MP is just hung waiting to play the video & the log mentions the audio device being removed.

    [2018-03-24 14:01:48,589] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Main: Audio Renderer Intel(R) Display Audio removed

    I have been here hours messing with this :mad:. Time to look at madVR again I think....

    From my research I think the audio device loss is the Intel driver doing a HDMI handshake to ensure HDCP is enabled. I think there is a utility to prevent this. Another thing for me to try....
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,202 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yep the madVR build that you can find in the first post will be the same as 1.19 Final because latest change are merged to it :p
    You maybe need to uncheck the options 'stop playback on audio removed' :)

    Also i have notice and not your fault that watchdog tool didn't set the debug level (not sure why) so if you run another set of log, you need to change log level to debug :p
    Thanks.
     
  11. hucknallred

    hucknallred Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 21, 2012
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I unchecked that option & had no problems with sound :). Did a test again, playing live TV & various TV shows until I came to The Orville again at 15:58, it started with sound, but black screen. Any other media I try after is also black screen too TV or video. The audio thing seems to be fixed, will try with this black screen now. Have attached full debug logs this time.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!