SQL error with MP-TVSeries | Page 2

Discussion in 'My TVSeries' started by pilot_bas, October 3, 2013.

  1. pilot_bas
    • Premium Supporter

    pilot_bas MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 16, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Yes I did, I reimported all the episodes in a new database, but no luck
    Even going back to a previous version of MPTVseries didn't help


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,462
    Likes Received:
    4,250
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,394 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Okay, then please try renaming the said files and see if that resolves your issue. If it does I will have to do a test on my system and possible escape that character. Just seems strange to me that it's only starting to be a problem now, surely people over the years have had that character in their episode names.
     
  4. pilot_bas
    • Premium Supporter

    pilot_bas MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 16, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Even more strange is it that it also pops up with already watched episodes.
    Like I said, I didn't have that problem until a few weeks ago. Maybe MSServer related?
    after googling the issue I found out that SQLite had problemens with the single ' character. In that website the solution was to double the ' character.
    I will try to see if that helps as well.

    Anyway, thanks for your quick reply!
     
  5. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,462
    Likes Received:
    4,250
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,394 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Maybe, if that was new to your environment then I wouldn't rule it out.
     
  6. pilot_bas
    • Premium Supporter

    pilot_bas MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 16, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    No, I am using this platform for 1,5 years now, but maybe it is a server thing?
    I am doing a clean MP install now with clean plugin installation. Let's see if that helps.
    if not, I suspect Microsoft :)
     
  7. pilot_bas
    • Premium Supporter

    pilot_bas MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 16, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi again.

    After changing the files and foldernames for MPTVSeries and Moving pictures, the movies and episodes are watchable again.
    So this is a workaround, but still strange to get this.
    When I changed the name ' into '' (two times '), the issue was also gone.
     
  8. mediacowboy

    mediacowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Support Technician
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Any more word on this issue? I noticed today after watching a tv show that had the ' in the filename i got a SQL error that the only way to get it to go away is to quit MePo and start it back up.
     
  9. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    Unless somebody can give a step by step process to follow that will allow anybody not experiencing the problem to then be able to see what is going wrong, it will be near impossible to actually fix it.

    Reproduction of a problem is first step in solving it​

    Now granted, debug verbosity log files could allow a developer to possibly find out why it is failing on your end and if extremly lucky backtrack the conditions that caused it. This however is much harder then reproducing steps and unless the error is obvious not always possible either. MP-TVSeries also supports a debug option to turn on SQL logging, which puts a massive stress on your system and generates huuuuge logs. That is why it is much easier if you are able to explain the steps needed to reproduce the problem on a freshly installed working setup.
     
  10. mediacowboy

    mediacowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Support Technician
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Ok. I have a tv show called "The Following" one of the episodes is called Poet's fire, i use the file renamed to have all my files named as follow's - D:\TV Shows\Series\Season ##\Series - S##E## - EpisodeTitle. I started watching this remotely using Web MediaPortal yesterday. Today i sat down to finish it on my tv. I selected it and started watching and the SQL error came up. I do use trakt with both MediaPortal and WebMediaPortal to help keep the watch flags synced. I will turn on verbose debugging and see if it will do it again tonight. If having access to my system will help we can even talk about that route.
     
    Last edited: October 11, 2013
  11. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    So MPExtended?

    SQLite is not very optimized for concurrent access to the same database. It is very probable that MPExtended is causing the SQL corruption, which means they would have to look at their code to see what is causing that to happen and fix it. Otherwise the MP-TVSeries developer, or I for that matter would have long ago noticed the same problem on the many shows and or episode titles that have a ' character in the filename.

    Example shows coming to mind are "Da Vinci's Demons", "Grey's Anatomy", "Hell's Kitchen (US)", and "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D", which are working fine for everybody using MP-TVSeries. The problem is that I know quite a few people who use MPExtended as well and I know from their Trakt history that they have watched "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D", so this is going to be one tricky scenario to test.

    It could be something very specific to your setup that caused the corruption to occur and now that it happened you are stuck with it.

    The only way to properly fix it usually means you have to actually delete the DB3 file and start from scratch. This time ensuring that nothing is running concurrent that could cause the corruption to happen again.

    One thing I'm curious though is if the corruption in your database is detectable by SQLite pragma command. I actually wrote an automatic backup/restore script for that, which might have allowed you to prevent the corruption.

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/corrupted-database.120376/#post-1014075

    You could try out the parts that actually test for corruption, to see if you are impacted by that. At least then we know for sure the source of your problem.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!