Stop TV Series from updating Ratings

Discussion in 'My TVSeries' started by conguero23, March 29, 2015.

  1. conguero23

    conguero23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 9, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Every time mp is restarted and or it searches for changes it overrides any manual changes to the rating and re-pulls it from the thetvdb.com on an episode level and it hardly ever has ratings.

    I am currently working on a script that pulls the ratings from Trakt but every time I update it it is replaced a little bit later. I checked the source code but I am unable to locate where exactly it is that it updates the rating to comment it out.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    What do you mean by manual? That you rate, episode/ serie or source code changes?
     
  4. conguero23

    conguero23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 9, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Its not actually manually if I replace the tvdb rating with something else it overrides it when it updates. I am able to update all rating values from the tvdb one to the trakt one. once tvseries updates it automatically overwrites it. I am asking if there is anyway to stop it from re downloading the ratings from thetvdb. I looked into the source code for tv-series but was unable to locate the code where it downloads the ratings to comment it out.
     
  5. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Okay... There should be possible to "disable". I haven't the src in front of me know... But start in the db. Find the value there. Search for column name if rating in src, and you will find it... I hope.
    Otherwise I maybe can look at it tomorrow...
     
  6. Edalex
    • Premium Supporter

    Edalex Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saratov
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    @ltfearme said TVSeries pulls trakt ratings if trakt rating dialog is enabled and pulls tvdb in other case as I remeber
     
  7. conguero23

    conguero23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 9, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I think it only pulls and syncs user ratings were we rated the episode not community ratings. @barneh thank you I tried all night yesterday and was unable to locate it. Thanks for your help.
     
  8. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Yes thats correct @conguero, the trakt plugin only updates user ratings from trakt.tv.

    The TVSeries plugin will update all fields unless filtered out, have a look in OnlineParse for UpdateSeries and you will notice some code:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2.   // find the corresponding series in our list
    3.   foreach (DBSeries localSeries in SeriesList) {
    4.   if (localSeries[DBSeries.cID] == updatedSeries[DBSeries.cID]) {
    5.   m_worker.ReportProgress(0, new ParsingProgress(ParsingAction.UpdateSeries, updatedSeries[DBOnlineSeries.cPrettyName], ++nIndex, SeriesList.Count, updatedSeries, null));
    6.   // go over all the fields, (and update only those which haven't been modified by the user - will do that later)
    7.   foreach (String key in updatedSeries.FieldNames) {
    8.   switch (key) {
    9.   // do not overwrite current series local settings with the one from the online series (baaaad design??)
    10.   case DBSeries.cParsedName: // this field shouldn't be required here since updatedSeries is an Onlineseries and not a localseries??
    11.   case DBOnlineSeries.cHasLocalFiles:
    12.   case DBOnlineSeries.cHasLocalFilesTemp:
    13.   case DBOnlineSeries.cEpisodesUnWatched:
    14.   case DBOnlineSeries.cEpisodeCount:
    15.   case DBOnlineSeries.cIsFavourite:
    16.   case DBOnlineSeries.cChosenEpisodeOrder:
    17.   case DBOnlineSeries.cEpisodeSortOrder:
    18.   case DBOnlineSeries.cBannerFileNames: // banners get handled differently (later on)
    19.   case DBOnlineSeries.cPosterFileNames:
    20.   case DBOnlineSeries.cCurrentBannerFileName:
    21.   case DBOnlineSeries.cCurrentPosterFileName:
    22.   case DBOnlineSeries.cMyRating:
    23.   case DBOnlineSeries.cViewTags:
    24.   case DBOnlineSeries.cHasNewEpisodes: //gets cleared and updated at end of scan
    25.   case DBOnlineSeries.cTraktIgnore:
    26.   case DBOnlineSeries.cOriginalName:
    27.   break;
    28.   case DBOnlineSeries.cEpisodeOrders:
    29.   if (bUpdateNewSeries)
    30.   goto default;
    31.   break;
    32.   default:
    33.   if (!key.EndsWith(DBTable.cUserEditPostFix))
    34.   {
    35.   localSeries.AddColumn(key, new DBField(DBField.cTypeString));
    36.   localSeries[key] = updatedSeries[key].ToString().RemapHighOrderChars();
    37.   }
    38.   break;
    39.   }
    40.   }
    41.  
    42.   // diff. order options
    43.   if (bUpdateNewSeries)
    44.   SetEpisodeOrderForSeries(localSeries);
    45.  
    46.   // data import completed; set to 2 (data up to date)
    47.   localSeries[DBOnlineSeries.cOnlineDataImported] = 2;
    48.  
    49.   if (localSeries[DBOnlineSeries.cHasLocalFilesTemp])
    50.   localSeries[DBOnlineSeries.cHasLocalFiles] = 1;
    51.    
    52.   localSeries.Commit();
    53.    
    54.   // UPDATE CACHE to fix getting the series named as the parsed name instead of the online pretty name!
    55.   if(bUpdateNewSeries) cache.addChangeSeries(localSeries);
    56.   }
    57.   }
    58.   }
    59.  
    The switch explicitly filters out the fields that should not be updated or set's it in the default. So if you dont want something set you need to add the field in there. There is something similar for Episodes.

    I think there might be more than one place this is done, you can search for one of the fields e.g. cMyRating and see what turns up.
     
  9. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Sorry I'm still not sure what you want to do? Do you want to NOT update with the tvdb rating but with the trakt rating?
     
  10. conguero23

    conguero23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 9, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    @barneh Yes I don't want to utilize thetvdb.com rating I want to use a trakt.com rating that will be supplied by a script that i am working on so i want to basically disable the rating and ratingCount fields from updating. Trakt only syncs with the myrating field.

    @ltfearme Thank You for the info I will work on it little while. BTW have you ever thought about using Trakt rating instead on tvdb since the tvdb hardly gets rated for the shows?
     
  11. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Yes, it was my intention to do that at some point.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!