switch to a new logging framework (Log4Net) | Page 4

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Bavarian, April 1, 2012.

  1. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    When it is tested and ready. For that we need comment from @Bavarian.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Bavarian
    • Premium Supporter

    Bavarian Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Germany, Bayern
    Ratings:
    +167 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    For my point of view, it is tested and ready to merge. :)
     
    • Like Like x 4
  4. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    Is it just the one mantis entry?

    - 0003273: [general] switch to a new logging framework C# Side (Bavarian) - ready for testing.
     
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  6. Bavarian
    • Premium Supporter

    Bavarian Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Germany, Bayern
    Ratings:
    +167 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am a git newbie :oops: - can somebody give me a helping hand?
     
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,228 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Sure :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,228 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 3
  9. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,228 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yeah i think i surely too happy today for the new year and follow this branch to be tested and have good report but in final it's a feature and you are right, we shouldn't commit in RC phase.

    It's not too late to revert it but make ugly master log.

    I would like to help Bavarian about GIT Stuff and was happy to help for sure.

    The good point is that all is working correctly and next time i will follow my intuition. :p
     
  11. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    So, what do we do?

    It does seem to be working okay, but my gut is telling me that there is too much chance of a problem, and if the problem means that we don't get logging when we should, it's going to make finding other problems even harder.

    If we are going to follow our new development model, then reverting this and putting it into 1.4.0, as we had intended, is not so bad.

    I think that is what we have to do.

    That certainly doesn't mean that I don't appreciate the efforts of you and @Bavarian, but this is just too much of a risk for a RC.

    Mark
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!