[confirm] - Terratec Cinergy C PCI HD tuning to a channel not working | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by klara31, April 15, 2010.

  1. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Terratec Cinergy C PCI HD tuning to a channel not working

    Please file a separate support request for the last part since it is not the same as this problem.



    And don't forget:

    [​IMG]
    How to gather log files
    How to show System Specs
    How to start support/bug thread

    --- PLEASE DO NOT COMMENT THIS MESSAGE ---
    Logs and system specs should always be added - just in case
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Terratec Cinergy C PCI HD tuning to a channel not working

    I have read in other forums that the new Terratec driver is working correctly with (e.g.) DVBProg. I am not a software developer and I do not have knowledge on how MP interacts with the driver (so please ignore my lack of knowledge), but just using common sense: if this would be a driver issue, wouldn't it in that case also be a problem for other progs?

    What can I do to help you determine if this is a driver issue or maybe a bug in MP?

    Please let me know!

    Thanks,
    klara31
     
  4. Pirppuli
    • Premium Supporter

    Pirppuli MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 19, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Helsinki
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    Have you tried specifying a different network provider (DVBC / Generic) in the card-specific TV Server settings? I previously noticed differences when doing some tests with RC1 on W7, myself.
     
  5. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Yes I have. Makes no difference.
     
  6. ludis

    ludis Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 9, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Geneva
    Ratings:
    +1 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Hi,


    Contact the driver supplier is a good idea, but ,without technical data, ......no way.
    The log data MP are not targeted for this problem (?).

    Concerning the change of provider, there is a difference for me: if I put "generic", I get errors "unknown error" and no error if I put DVB-S.

    Regards.
    Ludis


    :(
     
  7. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Does no error mean it works if you select DVB-S?
     
  8. ludis

    ludis Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 9, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Geneva
    Ratings:
    +1 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland


    With new Driver 1.1.1.901 :
    select "generic" : Very bad Work with random erros : (different: Unable to graph, unknown error). ---> reproducing : 100%
    If select DVB-S : Work but generate error:"unknow error" in MP when I returned on a channel using the Cinergy S2 ---> reproducing : 50%


    With old Driver 1.1.0.601 :
    select DVB-S or generic work fine.



    Ludis
     
  9. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Perhaps a stupid suggestion: Did you try what is stated in the logs, raise the PMT timeout? For instance settings it to a minute, does it work then?

    Of course if it would work, it sounds quite unacceptable to have to wait a minute before you can watch, but can be interesting to see if anything happens after some time.
     
  10. Thor2605
    • Premium Supporter

    Thor2605 MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +105 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: Terratec Cinergy C PCI HD tuning to a channel not working

    This I already tried with 30 seconds, but there the problem remains!

    If I use the new 601-driver for terratec my TV needs 90 seconds to turn on... Maybe the time for PMT-Timeout is too short, but the scan of senders doesn't work as well!
     
  11. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Terratec Cinergy C PCI HD tuning to a channel not working

    You said your logs are the same as already posted, but i do not have logs of failing channel scans.

    Did any of you contact the supplier already? In my opinion it should just be explained what is going on:
    Old driver works but BSOD, new driver does not work in MP, gives PMT timeout.

    If they are cooperative they can:
    Install MP themselves and try it out,
    or even check the source since it is opensource,
    or just ask the questions they have.

    Perhaps they will just say they don't support it, but it doesn't hurt in asking.

    And since i do not have a card of this brand and i don't know any other team member with such a card we have to rely on you guys.

    We do yet not see any other possibility for solving this.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!