Testing of 1.2.3 - final phase

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by elliottmc, April 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi everyone,

    Here is a new build of 1.2.3.

    This installer should update your existing install correctly (including the previous test builds, which report as 1.2.0).



    http://s282962534.online.de/MediaPo...cfdc213 for TESTING ONLY_2012-04-09-10-11.exe

    Please test and report back with any problems.

    Basically we need to be sure that issues marked as fixed in 1.2.3 in mantis

    http://mantis.team-mediaportal.com/roadmap_page.php

    for project MediaPortal and TV-Server actually are fixed, and that in no area is this version worse than 1.2.2.

    The only issue open is a few EPG grabbers. As long as no problems are found, this will become 1.2.3 (when the grabbers are included) so if you don't need those grabbers, you won't need to update again.

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
    • Like Like x 6
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. DjeC64
    • Premium Supporter

    DjeC64 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 29, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Gent
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    In my case the installation was slower than usual (upgrading from beta). Prior installation I stopped the TVServer.

    After the installation I found out that TVServer has its start set on "manual" instead of automatic. Please check with the setup. Now testing the rest.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. driver140771
    • Premium Supporter

    driver140771 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 8, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Installation works without errors (upgrading from 1.2.2) (y)
    I watched TV with this version and all works great (y) The channel-switch-time is now like the DVBViewer channel-switch-time (y)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    We are aware of some issues in the logs where plugins have version 1.2.2.112, rather than 1.2.3.112 (the 112 is the build number).

    The final release will be 1.2.3.0, and all logging is correct. I don't want to provide a link to that installer here, because it will look as though logs from it are from the official release, which will be confusing to the developers.

    In principle if you want to update from 1.2.3.112 (this build) to the final 1.2.3, you will need to do a clean install. However, there is a workaround for this, posted in one of the other threads, should anyone want to help with testing now and then need to do an update. PM me when 1.2.3 is released if you need help.

    Please be aware that in principle, the installer in this thread will update any version, including the other builds in area 51. In practise, some of these builds have different settings, and you may then run into compatibility issues, so if you find a problem and you have updated from one of the builds with extra features (skin engine or videos enhancements for example) please do a clean install before reporting problems.

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Slurm
    • Premium Supporter

    Slurm MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 16, 2006
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Graz
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    I upgraded 1.2.2 with this version and haven't seen any problems so far (watched tv, movies, listened to music and used a lot of other plugins).
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. chrik
    • Premium Supporter

    chrik MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Just updated from 1.2.2 channel changes seem faster was there any changes regarding that? Live tv works, teletext pages working.

    Earlier I have had many crashes when changing betweeen live tv and the old teletext pages to read news. Now just experienced a new problem when changing from teletext to "recordings" then there were only grey background, but nothing else. Restarting MP and tried switching between teletext and "recordings" now no problem.

    Elliottmc I might need your help with the workaround instead of clean install when the final 1.2.3 is released.

    Thank you all for the great MP development!!!!! I´ll donate some $ tonight!
     
  8. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Can you describe the problem in detail, and provide logs? I guess a grey background is better than a crash, so this does sound like an improvement, although not enough of one. Or does this actually work with 1.2.2?
     
  9. chrik
    • Premium Supporter

    chrik MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    No sorry if I can provocate it again I will do more testing and provide logs. I don´t know if the change from teletext to "recordings" dit work in 1.2.2 not much help sorry.
     
  10. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    There have been several changes in the TV area (specifically to TsReader.ax) to fix various 'black screen at start' bugs, which may have made a difference to the channel change delay (especially for client/server systems).

    Tony
     
  11. IchBinsShort

    IchBinsShort Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    52
    Ratings:
    +54 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    After the update Mediaportalk 1.2.2 with this Build 1.2.3 I get this error:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Unbenannt.png
      Unbenannt.png
      File size:
      43.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 9, 2012
      Views:
      119
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!