Viaplay for Sweden, Norway, Finland and Denmark

Discussion in 'OnlineVideos' started by Ministerk, March 3, 2014.

  1. Ministerk
    • Super User

    Ministerk Super User

    Joined:
    November 28, 2007
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    401
    Occupation:
    Systems developer
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Ratings:
    +831 / 3
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Viaplay for Sweden, Norway, Finland and Denmark

    Browser player and remarks
    • Browser player introduced in OnlineVideos 1.8
    • Videos plays in an external browser window and not in the online video player.
    • You can play, pause, stop videos (close browser) and skip/step forward and backward
    • You can not "play all" or download videos.
    • It might be a good idea to add "OnlineVideos.WebAutomation.BrowserHost" without quotes in PowerScheduler -> Processes -> Processes to prevent standby while watching, see Power Scheduler
    • I have a swedish account, but the other counties *should* work.
    Features
    • You can skip forward and backward in the browser player with right and left buttons on remote or keyboard.
    • Log in: enter Username (email) and Password in context meny
    • Search
      • "Ordinary" search
      • Search directors and actors from the context menu of movies (in most views...)
    • Starred videos
      • Starred category
      • Star or un-star videos from context menu in video lists (in most views...)
    • Watched/Activity/History
      • Watched/Activity/History category
      • Remove watched status of videos from context menu when in this category
    • Latest Videos
    Play titles with the internal player
    • Enable in site settings (in site context menu)
    • Not all titles available for the internal. If not available the title will play in browser as a fallback.
    • If you want you can choose to use only browser for live sport events (since you can't rewind or go forward in live streams with the internal player)
    • Scrobbles to trakt if playing in internal player
    Quirks:
    This is somewhat experimental...
    If you use internal player the watched titles will not appear in your watch history and you cannot continue automatically from the position you stopped the video earlier.
    Viaplay have a restriction on how many devices you can use with the service, this could add one device to your list (not for me, but maybe for you?)
    It's certainly not supported by Viaplay...



    Not featured
    • Adult content
    • Rental store content
    • NHL GameCenter
    Prerequisite
    • Silverlight must be installed on the computer
    • Viaplay subscription
    Tips'n'tricks for smoother playback
    • Turn on hardware acceleration in silverlight settings
      • Open "Microsoft Silverlight Configuration" in elevated mode (right click and run as administrator)
      • Playback tab
      • Check hardware acceleration
    • Reduce frame rate when not being in focus
    • Set a 50Hz refresh rate in your graphic settings
    Problems
    • If the video won't start, just a page visible in the browser. Exit browser (by "stopping playback" with stop key, esc, back, 'B',...) and try again
    • If the video content never start to play, only spinner showing and then back to content listing after approx 20-30 second, it could be a timeout. Edit the "BrowserHostWaitTimeout" in the OnlineVideos.WebAutomation.BrowserHost.exe.config file (found in [MP-INSTALL-PATH]l\plugins\Windows\OnlineVideos)
    • Viaplay restrictions
      • Viaplay only allows up to four devices connected/registred to the service, e.g. two computers, one smart tv and one smart phone. If you have used a four devices you might not be able to play contents with this onlinevideos site. Please contact viaplay to unregister a device from the viaplay service and try agian.
      • Viaplay only allows up to two devices to play content at the same time.
    • Log in bug Viaplay. There are problems with the current version of Viaplay. If you're not logged on in the browser player and the first thing you do is to try to watch a sports title the log in process can fail.
      As a workaround, first play a movie or a tv series episode (you don't need to watch it to the end only do log in faze) then start the sport broadcast.
    Report problems in this thread
    First check if it works as expected in IE on the same computer.

    Collect logs:

    Edit the OnlineVideos.WebAutomation.BrowserHost.exe.config file (found in [MP-INSTALL-PATH]l\plugins\Windows\OnlineVideos)
    Change the WriteDebugLog value to true

    Use the WatchDog, pick the second alternative and reproduce the error.


    HBO Nordic - no longer supported (open)

    Keeping this text, if it get supported again....

    HBO Nordic

    New version!

    Please read the Problems section about black screen problems. See Features down below for new features.

    The util uses your HBO Nordic watchlist to be able to play videos, since there are no direct links to them. This might lead to items in the watchlist that this util has added but not managed to remove afterwards.

    Features
    • Log in: enter Username (email) and Password in context meny
    • Get titles and descriptions in english setting
    • All the Series and Movies of course
    • NEW: Change subtitle with L on keyboard or yellow button on (standard configured mce) remote.
    • NEW: Add and remove videos to watchlist from the context menu of a video item.
    • NEW: Search video titles
    Prerequisite
    • Internet explorer
    • Flash must be installed on the computer for internet explorer
    • HBO Nordic subscription...
    Tips'n'tricks for smoother playback

    Enable hardware acceleration and try to match the refresh rate of monitor with content. Some titles are smoother than others.

    Problems
    • If you only get a black screen instead of video content:
    • HBO Nordic restrictions
      • HBO Nordic only allows up to five devices connected/registred to the service. If you have used a five devices you might not be able to play contents with this onlinevideos site. Please go to your settings page and unregister a device.
      • HBO Nordic only allows up to one device to play content at the same time.
    Report problems in this thread
    First check if it works as expected in IE on the same computer.

    Collect logs:

    Edit the OnlineVideos.WebAutomation.BrowserHost.exe.config file (found in [MP-INSTALL-PATH]l\plugins\Windows\OnlineVideos)
    Change the WriteDebugLog value to true

    Use the WatchDog, pick the second alternative and reproduce the error.

     
    Last edited: March 27, 2016
    • Like Like x 4
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. zekaja
    • Premium Supporter

    zekaja MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    54
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Music Production
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +98 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    First of all, thank you for your hard work, it´s much appreciated. I would love to get this Viaplay to work, but somehow i can figure it out. When i try to play a video, it immediately shuts right back into media-portal. like a glimpse of a browser, that´s how i can describe it.

    Anyone tried to get it up and running??
     
  4. Ministerk
    • Super User

    Ministerk Super User

    Joined:
    November 28, 2007
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    401
    Occupation:
    Systems developer
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Ratings:
    +831 / 3
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Hmm. What version of Mediaportal do you use? I suspect 1.7Pre? OnlineVideos 1.8 does not support MP 1.7.

    But I can be wrong, please provide full logs. I's very easy to do so, just follow these instructions: http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/18_Contribute/2_Testing_and_Bug_Reports/WatchDog .
    Pick Report a Bug to a Plugin Developer or Skin Designer in the watchdog and repeat the problem.
     
  5. zekaja
    • Premium Supporter

    zekaja MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    54
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Music Production
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +98 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    Quick reply... THNX

    I use MP 1.6
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. offbyone
    • Team MediaPortal

    offbyone Development Group

    Joined:
    April 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +3,303 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have seen problems with MP 1.6 as well today - it seems the .net 4.0 switch is needed and some other things due to the BrowserHost referencing MP Core and Remote dlls.
    I will be gone for a week so maybe you can ask Jason and Brownard to take a look at it with MP 1.6 or better 1.7 right away.
     
  7. Ministerk
    • Super User

    Ministerk Super User

    Joined:
    November 28, 2007
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    401
    Occupation:
    Systems developer
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Ratings:
    +831 / 3
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I can confirm browerplayer does not work with MP 1.6. My "production" system is 1.5 and dev also because of backwards compability.
    @offbyone OnlineVideos.WebAutomation.BrowserHost has references to core and remoteplugins and in MP 1.6 they are built with .net 4.0, is this the problem?

    Edit... man your fast!!! ;)
     
  8. offbyone
    • Team MediaPortal

    offbyone Development Group

    Joined:
    April 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +3,303 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    After the upgrade to .net 4.0 I also get some log4net and other execpetions in the log.
     
  9. Ministerk
    • Super User

    Ministerk Super User

    Joined:
    November 28, 2007
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    401
    Occupation:
    Systems developer
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Ratings:
    +831 / 3
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    But some good news @zekaja , I just watched a movie (in mp 1.5..) through this site and it actually works rather well although not the same seamless and smooth quality experience as the native player. But you can't have it all... So just wait for MP 1.7 and OV 1.8.1.0 and you are ready to go (edit: I hope).[DOUBLEPOST=1394232417][/DOUBLEPOST]
    Ok I'll do that.
     
    Last edited: March 7, 2014
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. zekaja
    • Premium Supporter

    zekaja MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    54
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Music Production
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +98 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    @offbyone and @Ministerk ... Fantastic News :)

    Been waitin´for years to implement viaplay into mediaportal, so a little wait longer doesen´t hurt.
    Thanks again...
     
  11. Ministerk
    • Super User

    Ministerk Super User

    Joined:
    November 28, 2007
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    401
    Occupation:
    Systems developer
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Ratings:
    +831 / 3
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    First: @zekaja have you had the time to update to 1.7 + 1.8.1? Does Viaplay work OK?

    Second: I have added HBO Nordic for the Nordic countries (duh...). See first post
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!