WALL-E Region B BluRay disc playing issues | Page 5

Discussion in '1.16.0 Pre Release' started by Joaquin, December 25, 2016.

  1. chris123

    chris123 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    OK, so I installed Windows 10 Home 64 bit as a dual boot on my HTPC. Once I got over a missing dependency (VC++2013) I am seeing exactly the same interlaced lines issue, with LAV filters and EVR, as well as LAV filters and madVR

    However - my poor old AMD Turion laptop with its Radeon Xpress 200M graphics stuttered and staggered its way through the adverts in the reduced fileset - and eventually displayed the bluray menu, but without the background image and (not surprisingly) with very intermittent stuttering audio.

    So... is it a setting or settings in my onboard Nvidia Geforce 8300 graphics? Or should I bite the bullet and buy a new graphics card (I prefer Nvidia but would consider ATI if there is a strong benefit)?

    Or is my old laptop only displaying the menu because it hasn't got the horsepower to display the background image, and if it had the power to display the image it would interfere with the menu text and leave me with the interlaced lines?

    All suggestions of what to try next gratefully received :)



    Cheers

    Chris
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Chris

    Thanks for your testing and thorough reporting - it's much appreciated. (y)

    LAV
    For the "picture background" issue...
    I'm wondering if this is related to this, which is present for LAV + EVR (and FFDSHOW + EVR):
    [2017-01-19 21:36:44,207] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - BDPlayer:GetVideoSize() failed
    [2017-01-19 21:36:44,210] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - BDPlayer:VideoSize:100x100

    LAV + MadVR log shows a more reasonable size:
    [2017-01-19 21:52:59,872] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - BDPlayer:VideoSize:1920x1080

    For the "interlaced lines" issue...
    This could be related to the same log entries mentioned above. Alternatively, maybe it's related to font or scaling.

    What is the value of your Windows desktop zoom/scaling setting? (Default is 100% = 96 DPI.)

    FFDSHOW
    Log shows MP is actually using Microsoft DTV/DVD:
    Show Spoiler
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,265] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: ffdshow Video Decoder
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,268] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - - remove done
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,269] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: Enhanced Video Renderer
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,272] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: DirectSound: NVIDIA HDMI Out (NVIDIA High Definition Audio)
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,274] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: Line 21 Decoder 2
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,276] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: ffdshow Audio Decoder
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,278] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder
    [2017-01-19 21:46:50,281] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Check graph connections for: MediaPortal BD Reader


    The "not going any further" is probably related to this error:
    [2017-01-19 21:46:56,258] [Error ] [35 ] [ERROR] - BDPlayer: TitleInfo(-1) construction failed.

    The -1 here is the title index. Index -1 is the current title. I guess MP is failing to get the current title info because there is no current title or because the title is changing.

    In short: the problem appears to be related to media type change handling, but I'm currently not able to see exactly what the problem is.


    Can you please try the attached patch with LAV + EVR and FFDSHOW + EVR and provide new MP log files (don't worry about the Java ones). The patch won't solve the problems, but it will give more information in the log files.
    Patch installation instructions:
    1. Close MP and MP Config.
    2. Open Windows File Explorer.
    3. Navigate to your MP install folder (default c:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal).
    4. Make a backup copy of Core.dll.
    5. Extract the attached Core.dll to replace the standard/current one.

    Thanks in advance,
    mm
    :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  4. chris123

    chris123 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thank you mm for the thorough response.

    Windows display is set to 100% default 96 dpi.

    Attached are the requested log files with the debug version of core.dll. As expected behaviour matches that previously, but it is nice to get the disc insert autoplay dialog back :).

    Probably overkill, but I have captured the log files in both the Windows 7 and Windows 10 environments on my HTPC. Behaviour was identical between the two different OSes (LAV gets to menu but interlaced lines in place of text, FFDShow stops after language selected)

    Thanks in advance

    Chris
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, I guess that rules out that line of thought.

    Thanks (y)

    Ha, yes - that fix will also be included in MP 1.16 final.

    Yes, that is overkill. ;)


    I've created two more patches for you to try. If we're lucky, version 3 may solve both problems. We'll see... :)
    Please:
    • use W7 for these tests
    • try FFDShow with both versions
    • try LAV + EVR with version 3
    • if possible, try FFDShow + MadVR with version 3

    Thanks in advance. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,295
    Likes Received:
    6,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,268 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi :)
    i did try both V2 and V3 (keep in mind that it's working here) with both dll it's works as when none but attached is log to try to see what happen :)
    Thanks mm for looking into it (very appreciated) :p
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks. (y)
    At least I can see there's no regression with LAV... :)

    [edit: The changes mostly are for compatibility with FFDShow/MS DTV-DVD. Especially handling of dynamic media type changes (OnMediaTypeChanged()). These were not covered by your test due to use of LAV and no dynamic media type change for the tested BR. ...but it's okay, thanks for testing. :) ]
     
    Last edited: January 26, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  8. chris123

    chris123 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks mm

    So, all testing with W7 x64 (y)

    1. FFDShow with EVR and core.dll v2 -> Displays language selection menu with background image at same time, but does not progress when language selected (ie gets to same point as previously but now displays background image) .

    2. FFDShow with EVR and core.dll v3 -> Displays language selection menu with background image c. 5 seconds later. Progresses to main menu, but still displays menu text as interlaced lines. (ie gets further than FFDShow did previously).

    3. LAV with EVR and core.dll v3 -> Displays language selection menu with no background image. Progresses to main menu, but still displays menu text as interlaced lines. (ie appears same as previously).

    4.FFDShow with MadVR and core.dll v3 -> Does not get as far as language menu. When menu selected in MP dialog box (Menu / Title 0 / Title 1 / etc) goes to a black screen and stops. Briefly flashes up the menu background when stop pressed on remote control but no other activity.

    5. LAV with MadVR and core.dll v3 (wasn't on the list but thought I might as well :)) -> rather unstable / unresponsive, displayed language menu with background image but kept flickering between full screen and a tiny window (could be related to the 100 pixel x 100 pixel view mm1352000 spotted in the log files above?). When it got to the main menu still displays menu text as interlaced lines.

    I'm not sure if any of this is the behaviour you expected, but hopefully it is useful?

    Cheers

    Chris
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Big thanks again Chris (y)

    I'm checking the log files now. Should have a new patch (or maybe 2) to test in the next hour or so...
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Well, the first two test results showed me that my suspicion was correct: it isn't possible to access BDReader from outside the main thread (eg. call-back on dynamic media type change). I think I've fixed that now.

    Can you confirm: is the test 5 (LAV + MadVR) result a slight improvement as well, or is it a regression?

    I'm more and more certain that fixing the "interlaced lines" problem is beyond my skill. Nevertheless, I've updated the again patch to try to improve the handling. Unfortunately I think it won't help. :(

    For the next tests, please can you wait for at least 30 seconds at the main menu (with "interlaced lines"), then directly stop playback. I want to make sure that I'm seeing the right part of the log file.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @Sebastiii
    Can you please PM me with a link to the ISO file that you got from Joaquin.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!