WALL-E Region B BluRay disc playing issues | Page 8

Discussion in '1.16.0 Pre Release' started by Joaquin, December 25, 2016.

  1. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,821
    Likes Received:
    2,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,785 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,821
    Likes Received:
    2,785
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,785 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Oh :)
    So simple, big thanks, on work PC it works but not at home, will investigate this, surely a plugin broke something at home :p
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. chris123

    chris123 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi, me again - it was all going well until I tried another Blu-ray ;).

    So, with 'Back to the Future' (Nvidia GT710, W7 x64):

    1. With LAV, EVR and core.dll v4 playback freezes about 3 seconds into the initial Universal Studio logo. Only option is to stop playback.

    2. With LAV, MadVR and core.dll v4 Blu-ray plays back ok (menus are very slow to respond, still get the flick between full screen and tiny window in menus)

    3. With FFDShow, EVR and core.dll v4 you get no video, just the menus. You can hear the audio but no video, even into the main feature.

    4. With FFDShow, MadVR and core.dll v4 playback freezes on black screen (same as with UP Blu-ray). Only option is to stop playback.

    5. With LAV, EVR and the original 1.16.0 pre release core.dll all playback is fine, including studio logos and main feature.

    There is a funny that audio defaults to the first stream (Japanese) even if you select English in the Blu-ray menu, but I can live with changing it using the Mediaportal menu.

    I haven't grabbed any logs yet - if you can let me know which of these (and any other) combinations you want logs for and I will grab them. If anything is not clear I can take a video of the screen too if it helps.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again Chris

    This is pretty much expected. Unfortunately Blu-Ray coding varies enough from unit to unit such that it's entirely possible one will work while another does not.

    Okay, let's dive in... :)

    That v4 DLL was intended for debugging, so there's a bit of unnecessary (and potentially problem-causing) cruft in there.

    A clean version of the same patch which contains only the changes submitted for inclusion in MP 1.16 final is available here:
    Pre 1.16: Problem with BD-J and external codec video

    Please also install this patch:
    BD-J menu bug on Alien blu rays

    ...and the attached BDReader.ax patch. That'll bring you completely up to speed with the proposed 1.16 final BR handling code. If you have problems with this combination, please provide the usual Watchdog log files plus Java debug file.

    We're still discussing that flick thing. Work in progress; no fix... yet.

    Hmmm. :(
    Please retest this after applying the patches mentioned above. If you still get no video, please provide Watchdog and Java logs for this too.

    No progress on this combo yet... though I have to say, when I looked at your previous log files, it looked like the combo was working. Might be helpful to have new logs with the Java debug this time.

    This certainly seems to be the expected behaviour... though whether it's a bug or not, I'm not sure.
    @Sebastiii
    Should it be possible to select the preferred audio (and subtitles) stream through the BD menu, or do you have to do it using the MP menu?

    Thanks so much! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Normally, it should relay on it but somehow sometimes, it doesn't, i'm not sure why but i have the feeling that it's maybe to solution to select best quality (for audio, i.e audio type) that override it, i didn't debug it (at least i have try but when doing that it was working).

    upload_2017-2-1_8-8-9.png

    The audio type was to select the prefered wanted audio type (for ex if we have DTS and AC3 french, i prefer the AC3 track) maybe that selection should be disable when running the menu.
    I'm not sure it was the root of the issue but maybe :p

    Edit : Thank you too :)
     
    Last edited: February 1, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. chris123

    chris123 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    First, thank for all your help and hard work. You'll be pleased to see there are no log files attached to this post :)

    So, with the latest BDReader, core.dll and jar files:

    1. With LAV and EVR works a treat :).

    2. With FFDShow and EVR I have a confession to make :oops:. Other than a quick check through I was using FFDShow with the default settings. With your comments that it should be working I checked through properly and spotted that VC-1 was disabled. Change decoder to libavcodec and (surprise!) it works perfectly. Really sorry for wasting your time looking into this.

    3. With FFDShow and Mad VR - you guessed it :oops:, with VC-1 decoder set it works fine, bar the flick thing. I am happy with the performance with EVR, but if I wasn't the flick thing wouldn't bother me at all - once the main feature is playing it seems fine.

    As far as the language goes, I have set English as the default in MediaPortal config but I still get Japanese DTS (on the Back to the Future Blu-ray) - it looks to me that it is just giving the first language in the list (English DTS is third in the list). Easy enough to switch languages via the MediaPortal menu.

    Thanks again for all your help,

    Chris
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks for the update Chris :)

    That VC-1 decoder setting is a bit of a "gotcha!". I'll file that away in the memory banks... though with the advent of LAV, I suspect people are not using ffdshow so much these days.

    From my side I've been meaning to continue looking at the madVR flicking issue, but every time I go to look at it I seem to run into other problems. As a result, I'm starting to get the feeling that something isn't right. For example, sometimes I'm able to access a menu successfully... but after restarting the same BR (even same MP session) I'll get an MP crash or be dumped back to the MP GUI video list when I try to access the menu again. This inconsistency is really frustrating.

    @Sebastiii
    It seems at least some of my errors come from failure to load the JVM:
    Show Spoiler

    hdmv_vm.c:558: _jump_title(1)
    bluray.c:3445: HDMV event: 3 1
    register.c:420: bd_psr_write(): PSR4 (TITLE_NUMBER) 0x0 -> 0x1
    bluray.c:3095: PSR change: psr4 = 1
    bdj.c:728: bdj_open()
    bdj.c:260: Opening c:\jdk1.7.0_17\jre\bin\server\jvm ...
    bdj.c:718: Failed to create new Java VM. JNI_CreateJavaVM result: -4
    bluray.c:3224: Can't play BD-J title 1
    bluray.c:2056: bd_read(): no valid title selected!
    bluray.c:1644: bd_seek_time(41505174165846492) failed: invalid timestamp
    bluray.c:1541: BLURAY destroyed!


    The "-4" result (JNI_ENOMEM) seems to mean not enough memory... but I think I have plenty. :confused:
    I tried to attach JDB to get more info but I got zero output. Either I failed to attach JDB properly or the JVM doesn't give any output.
    In desperation I tried doubling the Java heap and stack size to 512 MB and 4 MB, but it didn't help.
    Then I tried halving the heap size to 128 MB... and it seems to work better now (!!!). :confused:
    Do you have any clues about what might be going on?
    Not enough contiguous memory in the application memory space or...???
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    By the way...
    @chris123
    As part of my effort to figure out what's going on in my own setup, I managed to patch and update MP to the bleeding-edge-latest version of libbluray. Since I assume this is the same version used by VLC, I wonder if it might help with the old NVidia 8300 "interlaced lines" issue that you reported. Patch is attached in case you're interested to try it. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!