WifiRemote for MP2 | Page 7

Discussion in 'WifiRemote' started by FreakyJ, September 30, 2015.

  1. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    @FreakyJ What commands are currently supported for starting media in MP2? I'm need to check if the id thing with int in MP1 and string in MP2 is an issue. The commands for starting media in MP1 is not fully working so I guess I will have to separate them when sending commands to MP1 or MP2. Where should we have the identifier that says that I'm connected to MP2 and not MP1? E.g. in welcome message.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Somehow I thought this is the MP2Extended thread :D Sorry for the confusing PM^^

    Hmm good question. Maybe implement an extra call so that we don' confuse other CLients?
     
  4. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    @morpheus_xx
    I am working a bit on the WifiRemote while waiting for the MIA rework^^
    I would like to navigate to a certain screen from within my plugin.
    A short example:
    I would like to navigate to this screen and select a certain video, so that I can see the information:
    targetScreen.png

    How would I do that? Is it possible at all?
    I was browsing around and found something like MediaNavigationModel.GetCurrentInstance().NavigationData.AvailableScreens but I am not sure if this is very helpful :/
    Any input from your side would be great! I need something like that quite often o_O
     
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,860
    Likes Received:
    4,680
    Ratings:
    +6,705 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I didn't try this before, and the media navigation is quite complicated under the hood (but on the other hand very flexible). I need to check this in detail...
     
  6. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    That would be great! (y)
     
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,860
    Likes Received:
    4,680
    Ratings:
    +6,705 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Some questions at the beginning:
    How do you navigate through the movies library? Do you use the MP2 configured hierarchy? Example: user could have selected "genre -> collection -> movies" as default.

    If so, we would need to make the browsing action on remote linked to the actual screens/data.

    If not, i.e. you are only showing a simple list of all movies, then we have other options:
    1) We use only the "show all movie items" layout, load all movies and select the one you like
    2) We traverse the user hierarchy until the item is found. In the example above you see the problems: i.e. we would need to know the genre to navigate deeper to collection, and in the end to the movies themselves.
     
  8. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    From a user perspective I would prefer if it one get the full browsing history to the media item. In MP1 one only show the selected item but the browsing hierarchy to get there is ignored. So pressing back and one get to previous place. So say that I have watched a serie episode(started from MPiV) and want to get subtitles to the next episode in the same series. Then I try to use this feature to show the current episode. But say that MP1 was at EPG before I started the episode, then it will get back to EPG when browsing back. Instead of going to the season of the series.

    For me it's not so important if the correct filtering is done. I would go with all movies/series/music and then browse to the correct media item. The important thing is to be able to browse close to the media item and perform tasks that is not possible from the client. E.g. fetching subtitles.
     
  9. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I don't exactly what you want to know, but I try my best :)

    For example one can send the command "movingpictures" with the action "moviedetails" and the parameter "MovieName". This example would bring you to the screen shown above from everypoint. So if you are in the EPG it would jump to the screen above, the same if you are in the config, watching a movie etc...
    Does that make sense?

    I think option 1 would be sufficient also option would be nicer for the reasons mentioned by johanj. But MP1 works the same as option 1 so it is up to you what you think is the best?!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!