[solved] - windows 10: rc6 with mce remote control buttons not working

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by hansmuff25, August 11, 2015.

  1. hansmuff25

    hansmuff25 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Hi,

    i have a Problem with mediaportal 1.12 running with Windows 10 and an RC6 IR with MCE remote device

    It's a simple MCE remote Control from eBay which worked perfectly in my last htpc

    My new htpc hs a built-in RC6 remote Control.

    Now only a few Standard Buttons like up and down are working.

    Back, stop and pause for example are not working.



    I simply enabled use Microsoft MCE and also tried with use generic hid device (same results)

    logs are attached.

    I see only Standard hid devices in device managr --> human Interface devices

    Does someone please have a tipp for me?

    Is is just mapping? A Windows 10 Driver Problem? or remote device not compatible with RC6?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,503
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,371 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    When you tried HID, did you untick MCE in the MCE tab? If not, please give it another try by deactivating MCE in the respective tab and using HID only.
     
  4. hansmuff25

    hansmuff25 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I already tried only HID and deactivated MCE, same results.

    only a few Standard Buttons like up and down are working.

    Back, stop and pause for example are not working.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,503
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,371 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hhm, can you check the device manager that the RC6 receiver is actually correctly recognized as an eHome receiver? There need to be five Microsoft eHome entries:
    • 1 for Input devices
    • 3 for Keyboard devices (or whatever this is called in English)
    • 1 for USB controllers

    If you don't have such entries, then your RC6 receiver may not be fully compatible and we would need to investigate further. Speaking of it, it would be helpful if you could fill in your system specifications in your profile. This way readers can check out the technical details and possibly provide more insight.
     
  6. hansmuff25

    hansmuff25 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I have no ehome entry in device manager, i only see a few "hid conform" devices.

    i will update system specs immediately wehen i have access to the system.
     
  7. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +928 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    What IR receiver did you use with your previous HTPC? If it is a USB receiver, have you tried using it with your new HTPC? Your remote control and old IR receiver are presumably compatible with each other, and so should work on Win 10.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. hansmuff25

    hansmuff25 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    i will try with the "old" usb receiver in the new Win 10 system. If that works okay but I would like to use the integrated receiver. I would love to to recycle that terrible loolink usb receiver

    Maybe it's Win 10 driver related?
     
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,503
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,371 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No, that's not the case. The issue is that the in-built receiver is not 100% Microsoft compatible and requires its own software, which again would (most likely) not be compatible with MediaPortal. An example are the Streacom cases with inbuilt receivers, which will only partially work with MediaPortal. I had bought one of these, managed to redefine some buttons but in the end gave up because many keystrokes were hard-coded and could not be changed.
     
  10. hansmuff25

    hansmuff25 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    okay, with the old ehome receiver all keys works but now i have a very strange problem:

    if i press left, right, up or down key once mediaportal receivec if i pressed two times?

    it's impossible to go only one menu left, right up or down?

    I don't know what i should check for troubleshooting. i don't see any delay settings ...
     
  11. spachti

    spachti Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 27, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Bible Belt
    Ratings:
    +88 / 10
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    If I remember right, it was a long time ago, checking extended logging in the remote plugin fixed that for me.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!