1.20 final does not update video duration automatically

Discussion in '1.20' started by greybox, September 3, 2018.

  1. greybox
    • Premium Supporter

    greybox MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.20

    Description
    Updated to 1.20 final and noticed it does not automatically update new video files duration. The duration appears only after the file is played back.

    Downgraded to 1.19 - problem gone - the duration is updated automatically for all new files.

    Could anybody else confirm the bug?



    Thank you!

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Upload one of few new video files into a video folder, navigate to that folder from Videos. New files will not show video duration, but the old file will.
     
    Last edited: September 4, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
  4. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +963 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yes, it happens on my MP 1.20f test system too. :(

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,264
    Likes Received:
    6,218
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,224 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 2
  6. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
  7. greybox
    • Premium Supporter

    greybox MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    Is there an easy way to apply this fix to 1.20 or I should wait for 1.21 release? I am not a developer, I can only edit text files and replace binary files.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,264
    Likes Received:
    6,218
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,224 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +963 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have tested this on my MP 1.20f system, and can report that it fixes the problem with the video duration not being shown for new files in the "Videos" section. (y)

    For anyone else wanting to use this fix, please note that you must exit both MP and the MpTray utility. It is easy to forget the MpTray utility (I did!), but if you don't close it, Windows will not allow you to replace the DLLs (they remain "in use"). I also stopped TV Server, but I am not sure whether that is necessary. After replacing the DLLs, I suggest rebooting to get everything back to normal again.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. greybox
    • Premium Supporter

    greybox MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    I can also confirm that after replacing Databases.dll and Core.dll the problem is resolved, thank you!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!