4k HEVC DXVA2 not playing correctly in MP2 | Page 7

Discussion in 'Submit: Bug Reports' started by JSchuricht, December 28, 2017.

  1. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,559
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Ratings:
    +6,611 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ok. Could you post screenshots of graphedit when playback is done in MP2?



    Where is your test file is stored? Please test it with local hard drive again, if it was another source (UNC or MP2 remote bridge over http). Due to high bitrate there could be throughput issues at least with our remote bridge.

    Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. JSchuricht
    • Premium Supporter

    JSchuricht MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 13, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Silicon wafer manufacturing
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I had been testing with all media on a separate server, MP2 server on it's own virtual machine and the clients on physical hardware. The servers both have two 10Gb connections, 10Gb switch is connected to a 24 port 1Gb switch through 2x1Gb LAG and the clients connected to that 1Gb 24 port switch.

    Below is the MP2 WIP client with the same movie on it's SSD. I made it to the 1:50 mark with HEVC unchecked.
    Also tried HEVC checked in LAV and the ? is back in the corner.


    upload_2018-12-6_14-3-0.png
     
  4. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,559
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Ratings:
    +6,611 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, that looks ok. Can you use GraphStudio to render the same file. Does it playback then well?
    Chose "Render media file" from menu. Maybe replace VMR by EVR
     
  5. JSchuricht
    • Premium Supporter

    JSchuricht MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 13, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Silicon wafer manufacturing
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    VMR plays back normal.
    upload_2018-12-6_15-42-8.png

    EVR looks normal too

    upload_2018-12-6_15-48-49.png

    I did spot one difference in graphedit, hardware acceleration isn't being used with either VMR or EVR.

    upload_2018-12-6_15-59-34.png
     
    Last edited: December 6, 2018
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,559
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Ratings:
    +6,611 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Just got myself an interesting result with an experimental 64bit version of MP2:
    DXVA2n is active and playback is absolutely flawless with my HD530
    upload_2018-12-7_20-51-54.png
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,217
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,173 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @JSchuricht , when you played the movie with other tools like MPCHC, where you using a x86 or a x64 version?
     
  8. JSchuricht
    • Premium Supporter

    JSchuricht MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 13, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Silicon wafer manufacturing
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    x64, I am pulling the x86 version now to test.
     
  9. JSchuricht
    • Premium Supporter

    JSchuricht MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 13, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Silicon wafer manufacturing
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    x86 MPCHC works fine both with its native config and going through LAV. Grabbed the graphedit for comparison against MP2. Its from x86, x64 MPCHC doesn't give an output with graphedit.


    upload_2018-12-7_16-30-15.png
     
  10. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,217
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,173 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ok, so x86 LAV is working as expected. Thanks for testing.
     
  11. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    51
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    MPC-HC uses its own LAV codec version coming with its package. Just a reminder. LAV codec package coming with latest MPC-HC is dated 14-Nov-2015. I also wondered why MPC-HC had a flawless video experience on my HTPC while the latest installed LAV version by MP2.2 did not. Therefore I exchanged the MP2.2 version with the MPC-HC one and now it is better.

    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!