Antivirus + Firewall for HTPC | Page 7

Discussion in 'Tools and other software' started by Deco, October 2, 2006.

  1. SMa
    • Team MediaPortal

    SMa Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 15, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Helsinki - Finland
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Where can that splash screen be turned off?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ryan20021982
    • Team MediaPortal

    ryan20021982 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    83
    Occupation:
    Prison Guard
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Under system setup
     

    Attached Files:

    • nod32.png
      nod32.png
      File size:
      100.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      December 20, 2008
      Views:
      294
  4. SpudR
    • Team MediaPortal

    SpudR Documentation Group

    Joined:
    July 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,602
    Likes Received:
    449
    Occupation:
    CTO, MD
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +675 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    ryan20021982 - you need to get the version 3 client, it's much better!

    Switch to 'advanced view' -> entire setup -> user interface
     
  5. Pretoriano
    • Team MediaPortal

    Pretoriano Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 1, 2007
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Roma, Italia
    Ratings:
    +137 / 0
    Home Country:
    Romania Romania
  6. tesco

    tesco Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
  7. Cressari
    • Premium Supporter

    Cressari MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 29, 2008
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT-Fuzzy
    Location:
    Konstanz
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Use HTPC only with MP, never used a special firewall (just unsing inbuilt MS-Firewall) or anti-virus. Never had problems in 1,5 years.
    On my Office PCs i always run Kaspersky Internet Security, but this will be to hard for HTPC.

    And: NEVER buy Symantec Norton 360 - its built in hell!
     
  8. etheesdad
    • Team MediaPortal

    etheesdad Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 8, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Have you actually used this on an HTPC with MP?

    I put it on my XP machine and it played havoc with video playback - caused regular stuttering while playing back movies and tv shows. I took it off and put Avast! back on - problem solved. Personally I wouldnt recommend Panda Cloud to anyone wanting to run it on an HTPC
     
  9. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I'm using avast on my htpc, seems ok. it's free. You can disable all dialog boxes and have it send an email if it finds a virus instead of dialog box.
     
  10. tesco

    tesco Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I had absolutely no problems with this A/V on Vista with MP.
     
  11. mediortal

    mediortal Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I would rather not put an antivirus on a htpc, but might end up putting Avast home.

    Would there actually be any risks if only media portal and lan was used, like would any of the plugins or updates result in a virus(I remember a plugin had this)?

    I'm not even using it to record, only to watch videos, so not even need EPG.
    But it still communicates for weather, plugins, windows updates, would any of these be of risk and require virus scanner?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!