Automatically start MP fullscreen on secondary display | Page 11

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by dhannema, January 4, 2006.

  1. Ponyriemen
    • Premium Supporter

    Ponyriemen MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,570
    Likes Received:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    /root/home
    Ratings:
    +111 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi Guys,

    (sorry 4 my bad english, iam German)

    does that mean, that it is now possible with RC1 to run MP on the extended Desktop? Or am I wrong....



    Greetz
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kamelot

    kamelot Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yes, using mp_start with my recompiled version of MP 0.2.3 RC1 opens MP on my second display (TV) with all full directx support.
     
  4. skalman

    skalman Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Could you upload this file or send it to me?
     
  5. skalman

    skalman Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How do you configure Eventghost to control MP? i've installed the program but i haven't got the hang of it yet. I'm using a MCE remote.

    I guess the first step is to install the MCE Replacement Driver and activate the MCE Remote plugin?
     
  6. vuego
    • Team MediaPortal

    vuego Documentation Group

    Joined:
    August 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    660
    Occupation:
    Alchemist, Astrobiologist, Exotic dancer
    Location:
    Göteborg
    Ratings:
    +868 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Hey I don't own a MCE remote but I guess you would add support for it in the same way I did with my Tira.

    1. Click Add plugin and select MCE. Put it in Autostart.
    2. Create a macro for the command you wish to program. I.e Button 0 on the remote.
    3. Add an Action Window/Emulate Keystrokes and type the keyboard key to emulate = 0.
    4. To send this keystroke only to MediaPortal, even if unfocused, add another Action. Select Window/Find a Window. Select MediaPortal.exe from the programs running list. Be sure to place this Action above the Emulate Keystrokes action. You can test the action by selecting the macro and pressing F5.
    5. Finally to program this event to trigger by a remote key, press the key on your remote and it should appear in the log window. Simply drag this Event and drop it on your macro.
    The next time EventGhost receives this trigger from the remote it will execute the macro.
     
  7. kamelot

    kamelot Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Try this file and let me know ...
     
  8. skalman

    skalman Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks! I noticed now that the MCE Replacement Plugin controls MP even if it's unfocused but i'm gonna try this for some other apps.


    It Works! but do you know why the picture goes outside the screen?
    Here's a screenshot of how it looks:

    [​IMG]

    My Primary is running 1680x1050 and the secondary with MP is 1360x768

    Thanks for your help!

    Edit: It only happens when i play a movie and use VMR9 rendering.
     
  9. Viny

    Viny Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am confused after reading all this pages, so i will straight ahead ask my question and hope i will get the answer.

    I have installed the Media Portal on my laptop, Now what i want is that MP application should show up on my Laptop screen, and when i play the media it should be shown on my projector, thats connected to display 2 of the laptop. Is this possible ?

    Display 1: Media Portal Application only
    Display 2: Display the movie played only.

    Something like how the Movie Theater guy does, he has the application screens and what we see is just the movie. I dont want anything of MP to be shown on Display 2 other than the movie, all the controls etc's should be shown on display 1 including the mouse pointer. Making a perfect theater environment for my home.
     
  10. piba
    • Premium Supporter

    piba Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 26, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
  11. druid9
    • Premium Supporter

    druid9 MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 31, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    So to finally end all family problems....

    My home computer runs games and stiff for the kids

    MediaPortal (displayed on the TV) all the media stuff

    My Streamzap remote controls Mediaportal whether it is in focus or not

    10 virtual beers (and a real one if you are anywhere near Wollongong, NSW, Australia) if you can show me how.

    Mediaportal works fine - displays fine and remote controls it fine, but only if i am the only one using the PC. One 11 year old gamer, and my life goes all to hell.

    Anyone know if the can be achieved, and if so how.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!