Cant play .wav files with dts sound (only whitenoise) | Page 4

Discussion in 'ASIO music player' started by Skar, February 20, 2011.

  1. Crix1990
    • Premium Supporter

    Crix1990 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 9, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Cant play .wav files with dts sound (only whitenoise)



    I've to resample my DTS and Dolby tracks (both 48kHz).
    Because Dolby with 44,1 makes problems I've resample all to DTS @ 44,1.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Skar

    Skar Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 28, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Cant play .wav files with dts sound (only whitenoise)

    In the end, here is what worked for me:

    1. Using SAF 5.2 as codec pack in general. All movie formats work like a charm.
    2. As Audio player i use "internat dshow player"
    3. In addition i installed AC3Filter and set it up for spdif pass through for dts files.
    4. Then i disable "uncompressed" in the codecs tab of ffdshow audio decoder config

    When i start Graphstudio now with an audio dts file (.dts) it only uses AC3filter and plays the audio files in pass-through mode on my AV Receiver.
    I know its probably not the best way to do it, but its the one doing what i want it too.
     
  4. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Cant play .wav files with dts sound (only whitenoise)

    SAF6 will play your DTS in WAV without any problem.
    AC3 filter is not capable to play HD audio, but it will load to decode it = no sound.
     
  5. Skar

    Skar Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 28, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: AW: Cant play .wav files with dts sound (only whitenoise)

    I love SAF, but its a problem with the ATI Cards HDMI Output. You somehow cant tell it to leave SAFs output untouched. So the AV amp gets a Signal, and even recognizes it as DTS (as seen on the LCD Display), but I dont hear any Sound.
    Miracolously, with AC3Filter it works. As I said, I know its not a good solution, but it works. And all my DTS and DTS-HD Movies work fine, cause SAF somehow "overrides" AC3Filter.

    Again, i dont say this is THE solution, but it might be a solution for someone else as it was for me.
     
  6. DTS_Lover

    DTS_Lover New Member

    Joined:
    March 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hey guys,

    I've had the same exact problem with having .wav DTS audio files and when played only had white noise as output. Found this forum and tried to combine several things so I get those darn .wav DTS audio files to work.

    After about 4 hours of installing/uninstalling codec software and tweaking settings I've finally found the ultimate solution. This is how I worked it out:
    Setting up Haali Media Splitter:
    Nothing special really. Install and default settings are the correct settings.

    Setting up AC3Filter + AC3File:
    This is the tricky part. The picture will show my settings and the prove I'm playing a DTS 5.1 audio file.
    Capture.PNG

    Setting up mkvmerge:
    This is only a "small" remuxing tool. I'll explain in a second why I needed this little piece of software for my solution.

    How are these 4 pieces of software tied together?
    Well to answer this question you need to know how I came to the solution.
    • Rename the .wav's to .dts files
    • Open mkvmerge and "Add" a .dts file into the program. If done correctly you'll see an "A_DTS (ID0, type: audio)" info bar of your audio
    • Click the "Start muxing" button
    • When done correctly you will have a file 12345.dts and a 12345.mka in your source folder.
    Haali is needed to open the .mka file and AC3Filter/AC3File is needed to decode the DTS audio in the file and send it over S/PDIF to your receiver.

    Open the .mka file and voila, WMP12 will open this file and will decode it as a DTS audio (see picture above of AC3Filter)!!

    For a large amount of .dts files this solution might not be the best solution as mkvmerge will combine several files together into 1 file when several files are added to it's queue.

    I hope this helps for those who have this exact same problem as well.

    Kind regards and enjoy the music!

    DTS_Lover

    P.s. GraphStudio outcome:
    Capture2.PNG
     
  7. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Simple LAV splitter + LAV audio decoder dosnot work? It does for me, but i doesnot use passthrough.
     
  8. atlantic
    • Premium Supporter

    atlantic MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 9, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rennes
    Ratings:
    +106 / 1
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    I'm using SAF 6.09 and I have the same problem.
    My htpc is linked to my AV by hdmi (set passthrough), I don't use Spdif.
    What is the solution with hdmi?
     
  9. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Some reciever have problems if the DTS is in 44.100.
     
  10. shorty1483
    • Premium Supporter

    shorty1483 MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 12, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Occupation:
    Cert. IT-Systems Manager
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I just putted all waves into an .mka container. Now it runs fine.
     
  11. atlantic
    • Premium Supporter

    atlantic MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 9, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rennes
    Ratings:
    +106 / 1
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi shorty1483,

    I have used mkvmerge to put .wav files into .mka files.
    Now, if I play .mka files with mphc, the sound is ok and my AV displays "DTS".
    But in Mediaportal, the files can't be played again. (I added .mka extension in music configuration)
    That means, my system (htpc + AV) works correctly to play DTS files, but not yet Mediaportal .
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!