1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[DIY] AtmoOrb - A Hue like mood lamp based on Arduino, ESP8266 wifi module and WS2812B rgb leds | Page 5

Discussion in '[DIY] User Showcases' started by Lightning303, January 12, 2015.

  1. Lightning303
    • Super User

    Lightning303 Super User

    Joined:
    September 12, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. daaf84

    daaf84 Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I solved it, I think some libraries were interfering each other. I tried it on a other PC with a free install, And now it all works! :D Me so happy!! Thanks a lot.

    Just one question: I now work wit NeoPixels, but I have some WS2801 here, where do i put the Clock pin? Just om GPIO2? Do I need to set something else?
     
  4. Lightning303
    • Super User

    Lightning303 Super User

    Joined:
    September 12, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Great,
    dont know, havnt tried any SPI chipsets yet. Havnt done anthing with esp or leds in the last month in general. Last i checked hardware spi wasnt implemented into fastled, so you would need to use software spi, and then it shouldnt matter what pin.
     
  5. daaf84

    daaf84 Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I'm gonna try this tonigh.
    The resetting was also due some floating pins. I've pulled them up and used a decoupler capacitor between gnd and vcc. This solved it.

    Is it ok with you if I make a tutorial for this on instructables? Of course I mention you and this thread.
     
  6. Lightning303
    • Super User

    Lightning303 Super User

    Joined:
    September 12, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  7. daaf84

    daaf84 Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Ok, that's weird... Yesterday I changed just the color correction in de sketch and uploaded it. Hardware didn't change.
    But nothing is happening again. What is is happening is that is connecting to the WIFI.
    Restarted hyperion, but nothing is happening again.... Very frustrating.

    Do I need some special router settings? I don't quite understand the multicast protocol. My home network is on 192.168.2.***
    And the multicast is on 239.15.18.2 Set on Hyperion and the ESP.

    Maybe a stupid question, but don't I need a 'Bridge' device like Hue?

    Is the a way I can see Hyperion spits out the data for the ESPlight?

    EDIT:
    I've used the windows Color control app for testing the atmoOrb. The light is responding instantly, so the hardware and sketch on the ESP are ok.
    There must be a problem with the RBPi of hyperion.config.json.
    While I was trying this, I had connection for a short while; I was able to play effects and change colors by using the Hyperion App.
    But it was not grabbing colors from my screen. Screen grabber was not in the config file at that time, so that make's sense. After I added it in again, no lights at all with hyperion.
    But, still responding to the windows Color control App.

    I use two configs: 1 for my backlight, directly connected to the RBPi with WS2801 leds and the other config for the Atmolight.
    I Stopped the hyperion service and tried to just start the atmolight config. But that didn't worked out as well.
    So frustrating, it's so random.... When it's working, I don't know why it's working and vice versa.
    The RBPi is connected by LAN, btw.

    Someone some thoughts?
     
    Last edited: October 11, 2016
  8. daaf84

    daaf84 Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I have red about qt5? OSMC seems to have it's own version of that, or that is what I understand about it.
    I want this great project to work...
     
  9. tänzerich

    tänzerich Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
     
  10. tänzerich

    tänzerich Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Fast genau zum Jahrestag kommt meine Erfolgsmeldung:
    Mit diesem Sketch:
    // AtmoOrb by Lightning303 & Rick164
    //
    // ESP8266 Standalone Version

    und dem USB-Seriell UART Adapter incl. dem Programmiertaster
    hat alles funktioniert.


    USB-Seriell UART Adapter.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Lichloathe

    Lichloathe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 25, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    Hey @Lightning303, I just thought I’d let you know after setting up my tv with atmowin and an arduino/ws2812 pair almost 12 months ago I thought I’d give this lamp project a go.

    After weeks of trial and error (mainly with the firmware), I now have a standalone esp8266 setup working.

    I’d just like to thank you and everyone that helped get this project working, it’s amazing what you guys can accomplish.

    One question. If you or anybody is still using this I’m curious about your smoothing etc settings. I’ll post more details about my own setup soon but I thought I might save some testing time by querying you guys a bit.

    I have to say though after an atmowin tv setup and now a lamp........what to do next???

    ;-)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!