How To: MCE Remote Keyboard in XP Home | Page 6

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by Brocklander, January 7, 2006.

  1. pnyberg

    pnyberg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 21, 2006
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Occupation:
    IT professional
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I think your problem is that you still haven't replaced all the required files...
    Check, double check and triple check that you actually have the rollup-driver files installed and running.... :confused:



    I can't see why it shouldn't work if you are running the required files - perhaps you do have some faulty hardware...
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. clud

    clud Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Im running danish win xp pro - i dont have the dll cache dir to put in the files mentioned by pnyberg....
    How should i make it work, and why the **** doesnt msoft release a danish rollup2 and to every language how hard can it be - they are gettin paid to do stuff like that!

    currently only able to put my htpc to sleep with my keyboard...
    considering putting the keyboard to sleep....

    /chr
     
  4. hellemand

    hellemand New Member

    Joined:
    September 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
  5. tompa
    • Premium Supporter

    tompa MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Hi!
    Im using Win XP Pro Swedish version, and also having problems with MCE keyboard .
    I have tried to replace the irbus.sys and hidir.sys in safe mode, but they keep coming back in the old version.
    Have tried pnybergs notes for XP Home, but not shore if that applicable for XP Pro.
    Has any one succeeded with XP Pro Swedish?? In that case how did you do it?
    /TT
     
  6. wortelsoft

    wortelsoft Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    When using XP pro, you should just download the complete MS update file.
    It normally shouldn't mater that you have a swedish version, as it's just a driver.
     
  7. tompa
    • Premium Supporter

    tompa MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I think I did, which would be KB912024, but it cant be installed due to wrong language version.
     
  8. wortelsoft

    wortelsoft Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Ok I see maybe you should do it in safe mode and then search for all copies of the file there will be another set in dll cache these are the ones which are copied back.
    Also replace those.
     
  9. tompa
    • Premium Supporter

    tompa MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Where is dllcahce in XP Pro? Cant find it...
    This was not an easy task ;-)
     
  10. wortelsoft

    wortelsoft Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    C:\windows\system32\dllcache

    Make sure that you have Windows explorer setup to show hidden and system files.
    It's a hidden folder, because you shouldn't normally mess with it.
     
  11. tompa
    • Premium Supporter

    tompa MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!