HTPC + HDMI + Win7 and its many issues... | Page 8

Discussion in 'Operating System' started by gibman, July 7, 2012.

  1. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Maybe I have said this before.

    But, please, before you spend any money on something. Try this MP build.

    Scythe (a Dev) is currently very very active in resolving issues with hdmi detection, half size screen, reïnitializing audio etc...
    Here is the thread.
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/scythe42s-fixes-for-1-4-0.118345/

    In the opening post, there is a build of mediaportal which should in theory tackle a lot of the problems discussed in here. A lot is fixed already and likely will make it into next MP version (1.4).
    Just make sure you make a backup before you try this. Hopefully you dont have to buy anything becuase of this development.

    Besides that, in that development thread we could always use more testers :)



    regards.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. gibman
    • Premium Supporter

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    The build you are referring to will definitely help a lot.
    But I am convinced that there are still a few issues that will annoy.
    They will probably be hard to fix if even possible.

    consider this.

    gfx/hdmi => AVR => TV.
    user is watching TV using mp1 with hdmi sound over AVR.
    user changes the input selector on his AVR to DAB/FM or whatever.
    it causes a HDMI handshake / re-negotiation.

    User now changes back to HTPC selector on his AVR.How will MP handle this ?
    The HDMI audio device in use just disappeared from under it ..while MP-TV was on.
    Channel will most likely just stop tuning. User is presented with idle tvhome.
    maybe MP will even crash.

    Those EDID emulation devices will keep the hdmi connection alive regardless.
    So when the user changes his AVR input selector back to HTPC then mp TV is still running and sound is output seamlessly.

    Problem is this HDMI handshake event has a long list of issues associated with it.
    Not just one.

    /gibman
     
  4. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    @gibman

    I read above you just very enthusiasticly vaulunteared to be a good tester and help Scythe test and improve. :) No point in discussing the MP fixes in this thread. Scythe doesnt have all hardware to test himself, so he is depending on good feedback and improvement suggestions.

    In short: Read the thread and current capabilities/fixes.

    But because I cant resist... From what I've experienced with those testbuilds.
    - During playback switch off/on AVR works (worked a month ago atleast)
    - Audio rendere loss (without MP knowing) is targetted and being fixed at this moment.
    - Behaviour with multimonitor setups are being tested and fixed now.
    - TV channels and tuner behaviour, Im am unfamiliar with... But good help is welcome :)

    With your very clear view on what you need and your knowledge, I bet your help will def help a lot. Fixes like being done now, will be a huge jump forward for MP.
     
  5. JJ Tech

    JJ Tech New Member

    Joined:
    April 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hello again,

    So sorry, I wasn’t very complete in my problem or question (see below).

    I am using Windows Media Center to watch recorded TV on 40” LED TV which is connected directly via HDMI to my Gigabyte motherboard (no graphics card). I am getting my corresponding audio via a optical cable to my receiver.

    My only problem is that when I turn off the TV the OS shoves WMC back to the main monitor downstairs in the office. I have to go downstairs and shove it back when I want to use the TV. (great move on Microsoft’s part!)

    When I use the “tape” method to cover pin 19, my PC doesn’t see the TV at all.

    Being a novice, I would think that pin 19 would have to see a constant voltage from the TV, yes???

    Is that why the resister from pin 18 to 19 came up in the thread? Why are there two completely different fixes to seemly the same problem?

    Will the pin 18 to 19 fix work for me?

    Thanks,
    JJ



     
  6. lsf3og
    • Premium Supporter

    lsf3og MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    For me the trick simply doesn't work. Sadly this seems to be quite common.
    I will try the trick mentioned gibman: https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...and-its-many-issues.109242/page-6#post-979435
    Perhaps you should give it a try too. The other option is buying one of the earlier mentioned devices.
     
  7. JJ Tech

    JJ Tech New Member

    Joined:
    April 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    In one place Gibman says that he plugs the modified connector into the graphics port and in another place I believe he says he plugs it into the AVR.

    If I do this mod, would I plug it into my motherboard's HDMI output?

    Why were people saying the "tape pin 19" approach was working?

    Doesn't the OS need to see a constant voltage on pin 19 to retain that TV or monitor's apps after it is turned off?

    Thanks,

    JJ
     
  8. JJ Tech

    JJ Tech New Member

    Joined:
    April 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I talked to a tech from Atlona Technologies who has an interest in selling their $150 solution to this but he said it wasn’t just pin 19, it was a half of dozen pins that make up the “heartbeat” that tells the OS that the TV is still on.

    What do you think? Will the pin 18 19 solution foul the OS and leave the apps that I have on the TV when I turn it off?
     
  9. peque
    • Premium Supporter

    peque Moderator - Spanish Forums

    Joined:
    August 4, 2007
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    88
    Ratings:
    +111 / 1
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    I've been testing that Scythe build this week... but I can't use it in a daily basis because MyMusic is broken (it only plays first song in a playlist... then just skips the next ones and stops)... I'll go to the thread to see if there's a fix.

    bye!
     
  10. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Ok, good. So some issues experienced related to half/full screen etc. are fixed? Keep in mind, the tread is in "Area 51". The build and improvements are being developed with the help of all users feedback. Things like you mention are essential to know for the dev in question. Fix one thing, break another isnt an option for them.

    Hope it works out for everyone in the end. (can't be long now :) )
     
  11. peque
    • Premium Supporter

    peque Moderator - Spanish Forums

    Joined:
    August 4, 2007
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    88
    Ratings:
    +111 / 1
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    Someone in Music Player Rework thread said that Scythe build lacks some file, and that's the problem... I'll see.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!