HTPC + HDMI + Win7 and its many issues... | Page 9

Discussion in 'Operating System' started by gibman, July 7, 2012.

  1. Harmani
    • Premium Supporter

    Harmani MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 13, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    My setup is like this:
    Desktop PC with a main display and a secondary display which is the LCD TV, connected through an Onkyo AVR by (of course) HDMI.

    I always had a hard time getting it all to function properly. Seems like turning off the Onkyo AVR makes the GPU think the HDMI-cable is completely disconnected. Which results in all windows incl MePo being moved to the primary display.

    I had high hopes for the PIN19 trick. After getting it right I thought I nailed it, but noooo :( . The GPU does not detect if the AVR is turned off, which is good, but now I have to make sure the AVR is in the same on/off state as it was before my system entered standby mode. If not, Windows will somehow still detect it has turned off and all kind of problems arise. Most of the times MePo will force close as well. To get it fixed I first need to open Catalyst Control Center which will force detect connected devices and then restart MePo (major WAF killer!).

    Now my question to you gibman, which of the following solutions do you think will work for me? Since you seem to have tried them all and have a similar setup, I think you would know ;)
    1. The devcon trick. I guess this works the same way as forced detection by CCC. So I guess it will only work if the AVR is turned on first? Still not ideal… System might wake unattended now and then.
    2. Dr. HDMI or HDMI Detective. Should fix all issues, but should be the last resort.
    3. I’ve read on some AV forums that a cheap but powered HDMI splitter could also keep the AVR signal alive? Have you (or anyone else) tried this?
    4. Your soldering trick. Seems golden! But do you think it would work in my situation?



    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. gibman
    • Premium Supporter

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    all I know is that my setup has worked ever since I tried the pin18-19 soldering hack job.

    ATI gfx outputting (clone mode) to 2 devices, AVR and LCD.

    the hacked HDMI dongle is then connected to the hdmi port of the ATI gfx that in turn is connected to the AVR.

    The LCD TV has no issues, I can turn it on/off (standby button on the sony LCD tv).
    The AVR (yamaha) has been the real pain here - that was until I did this trick.

    Doing the tape trick on a HDMI can in some cases leave the "fix" permanent on the cable. Tape / glue residing on the pin, even after you have removed it - or so you thought :)
    So you risk the cable, if you ever want to undo it.
    doing it in a HDMI adaptor, like the angle adaptor is probably better and safer.

    I also use inf monitor drivers created by the "moninfo" utility. This is done for both of the devices, AVR and LCD.

    I tried similar approaches on parents rig.

    They have a ati hd6350 along with some newer denon AVR along with an older plasma TV from panasonic.
    In this case I was the same for you regardless of the solder pin 18-19 trick.
    It needed devcon onresume.

    In the end I bought the Dr HDMI and all is good.
    Atleast I can vouch for this device :)

    HDMI = something the devil himself invented.
    I had no HDMI issues until I was persuaded to go for a AVR hdmi setup as it had so many nice possibilities.
    Like playing games in 7.1 pure digital audio with one cable opposed to wiring up several analogue cables :)

    so, it seems there is no 100% guarantee that these things will work.

    but if you do the edid trick on both devices + soldering 18-19, then I guess the poor mans solution doesn't get more complete than this.

    /gibman
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. lsf3og
    • Premium Supporter

    lsf3og MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    What is the edid trick? I thoight i read everything about trying to trick edid?
     
  5. gibman
    • Premium Supporter

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Download moninfo tool. Google it.
    Then attach only 1 device.
    Load moninfo. Then create monitor inf driver.
    Save the inf file with a name like avr.inf
    Do the same foe the tv. In this case you want the tv connected only.

    Now u should have 2 inf driver files.
    Open device manager and look under the monitor category.
    Connect the avr only.
    In device man. U should see one generic monitor.
    Update this driver to the avr inf.
    Now do the same foe the tv. When u connect the tv u should see another generic monitor. As i said. Replace this with tv.inf

    Done.
    The edid trick should always be carried out as it normally helps.
    Ive never seen it worsening things.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. lsf3og
    • Premium Supporter

    lsf3og MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for your help allthough i'm not quite sure whether i understood the description completely.
     
  7. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Ok guys. 1.4 prerelease is out. It should fix a LOT of the issues described in here.

    anyone tested it with the issues in the thread?




    Please, post your results with that build for others as well.


    .
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2013
  8. lsf3og
    • Premium Supporter

    lsf3og MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    1.4 didn't change my problem (and it shouldn't have) , but a little soldering of pin 19 and 18 works for me.
     
  9. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,173 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    had you use normal unchanged HDMI cable for testing? changes in 1.4 can't work if used pin19-tricked cable.
     
  10. 4Fred
    • Premium Supporter

    4Fred MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 8, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jönköping
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Been running 1.4 pre rel and have not had the HDMI problem on any of my two computers since (for info look at my system specs).
     
  11. lsf3og
    • Premium Supporter

    lsf3og MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Maybe, but my only problem was audio stopping when switching off TV. The only way, besides spending 90€ seems to be soldering. But I just tested wrong resolution after switching off/on without the adapter and that works.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!