Jumping in show list?

Discussion in 'My TVSeries' started by Freethefire, October 17, 2017.

  1. Freethefire

    Freethefire Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 2
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    Thanks again for a brilliant plugin!

    I've set up a home built ir receiver with my htpc (Attiny85 based). And I was wondering if there are any keyboard shortcuts for moving quickly up and down the list? Since my 123 sms style jumping technique isn't working atm, and scrolling with many shows is a pain.
    I thought it that just pressing the key on the keyboard would jump to that letter, but that wasn't the case.

    Thanks for your time!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    4,227
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,365 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I think Page Up/Dn on keyboard or Channel Up/Dn on remote control.
     
  4. Freethefire

    Freethefire Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 2
    Show System Specs
    Thanks! Will try that.
    It'll have to do then if you can't use letters I guess.
     
  5. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,141
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Ratings:
    +1,654 / 2
    @Freethefire or research why your 123-SMS method is not working, because the navigation is all handled by MediaPortal and shared between plugins.
     
  6. Freethefire

    Freethefire Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 2
    Show System Specs
    I will RoChess, thanks for the hint!
    It's not working because the ir receiver is running as a simple HID keyboard, and is only programmed for 1-9 digits on the 1-9 buttons(ie button 1-9 on a keyboard).
    But anyway, thanks to Itfearme, it's tolerable to navigate my series in the mean time ☺️
     
  7. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +898 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    In other areas of MP, the letter has to be upper case to cause a skip to the first entry that begins with that letter. This is because the lower case letters are used for shortcuts and other functions. Example:

    h == goto "Home" panel.
    H == goto first entry in the list that begins with a letter "H" in upper or lower case.

    I have never used the "MyTvSeries" plugin, but if @RoChess is correct that it is MP that does the navigation, the behaviour should be the same (so upper case should work to cause a jump).

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  8. Freethefire

    Freethefire Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 2
    Show System Specs
    Oh really?
    Big thanks CyberSimian! Didn't even think that far:whistle:
     
  9. Freethefire

    Freethefire Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 2
    Show System Specs
    @CyberSimian, where did you find this information? Is it written down somewhere or is it just common knowledge?
    Just tried it with capital letters and it didn't work unfortunately. I just wanted to see if there is any more info where you found this info.
    Thanks again!
     
  10. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +898 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Good question. I don't recollect reading it anywhere (although I may have done), so I possibly found it by trial and error. In a long alphabetic list, it is an obvious facility to support to allow rapid scrolling to the section of the list that you want.

    I have just tried this in the "Videos" section of MP, using MP 1.12f, and it works as I described in my previous post. Try this for yourself, to see if it works for you in the "Videos" section.

    (1) If it does not work in "Videos", your keystrokes are possibly getting mangled somewhere, or you are not sending the correct values. I should mention that I used a conventional keyboard, not SMS style (which probably doesn't work with this facility).

    (2) If it does work in "Videos", then it is probably the "MyTvSeries" plugin that does not actually support this facility (even though @RoChess said that it does).

    One further thought occurs to me. I am using the Ortek/Hama remote control, with the "Centarea HID" mapping layer. I have a vague recollection that when the new support for MCE remote controls was introduced several releases ago, this facility was lost. There is some flexibility in the support for MCE remotes, so it may be a simple matter of making the correct selections, but I am not that familiar with it to be able to advise you. Perhaps @Stéphane Lenclud can help?

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. Freethefire

    Freethefire Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 2
    Show System Specs
    @CyberSimian. Thank you for such a informative answer!
    I will look in to it again, and definitely try the shortcuts in "Videos".
    If it doesn't, I'll probably do a fresh install of MP, just to rule out any old customizations done by me that might be responsible for the problem.

    Brilliant and prompt support as always! It makes me really happy☺️
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!