Keep getting kicked out of Live TV

Discussion in 'General Support' started by ben1210, May 4, 2015.

  1. ben1210
    • Premium Supporter

    ben1210 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 2, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    After a restart I can view tv for a couple of minutes and then I'm kicked out with a cannot connect to sql database error message



    Any hints greatly appreciated
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Heya :)

    Hmmm, both the database and streaming connection appear to just drop at around the same time.
    Could you please post the server logs.
    I'm wondering if TV Server crashes or something. If it isn't that then perhaps a network connection drops (or firewall blocks it).

    Regards,
    mm
     
  4. ben1210
    • Premium Supporter

    ben1210 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 2, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I think its a network issue on the client side, but any indication / help from you always greatly appreciated. logs from server attached[DOUBLEPOST=1430785071][/DOUBLEPOST]Re-installed client ethernet drivers and didnt make a difference. Watched tv just now for 10 minutes fine and got the dreaded freeze and could not connect to tv server / database, please check firewall settings message
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2015
  5. ben1210
    • Premium Supporter

    ben1210 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 2, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi again, I've noticed the latest MP has Controller Pad support and really would like udate and use this feature so I need to fix this client as its also a high spec gaming PC. I've re-installed MP 1.11 and ditched the homeplug in favour of a direct ethernet cable to the router.

    I have been using another client in place of this machine in the same place and its been running fine. This leads me to think that there is a software configuration issue with this computer. When trying to watch TV it comes up with an error message 'Unable to play stream 5'

    Logs attached for the client please aany help to resolve greatly appreciated
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Sorry for not responding to your previous message.

    I did look at the server logs... but unfortunately they don't cover the same period as the client disconnection, and therefore they're useless.

    Here's the client side:

    [2015-05-04 23:28:51,529] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - TVHome.ViewChannelAndCheck(): View channel=BBC One HD
    ...
    [2015-05-04 23:34:50,354] [Log ] [TvClient-TvHome: HeartBeat transmitter thread] [ERROR] - TvServer: Failed to execute remote TV server operation (IsAnyCardRecording) The operation has timed out after 3000.
    [2015-05-04 23:34:50,444] [Log ] [TvClient-TvHome: HeartBeat transmitter thread] [INFO ] - RemoteControl - Disconnected
    [2015-05-04 23:34:50,444] [Log ] [TvClient-TvHome: HeartBeat transmitter thread] [INFO ] - TVHome: OnRemotingDisconnected
    [2015-05-04 23:34:50,456] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - g_Player.OnStopped()

    ...and the earliest entries in the server logs:
    [2015-05-04 23:47:45,085] [Log ] [7 ] [INFO ] - TV Service: Starting

    I'm still interested in seeing concurrent client and server log files.

    This could easily have been the problem.

    This client now appears to have a corrupt MovingPictures database:

    [2015-05-24 13:37:54,597] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - SQLiteClient: Closing database: movingpictures.db3
    [2015-05-24 13:37:54,597] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - SQLiteClient: Closing database:
    [2015-05-24 13:37:54,597] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - SQLiteClient: Closing database:
    [2015-05-24 13:37:54,597] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - SQLiteClient: Closing database:
    [2015-05-24 13:37:54,597] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - SQLiteClient: Closing database:
    [2015-05-24 13:37:54,612] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - SQLiteClient: Closing database:
    ...
    [2015-05-24 13:38:25,968] [Error ] [Artwork Updater] [ERROR] - SQLiteClient: cmd:sqlite3_step err:ERROR detailed:confused:QL logic error or missing database query:update movie_info set title = 'Care Bears: Tell-Tale Tummies', alternate_titles = ' ', sortby = 'care bears telltale tummies', directors = ' ', writers = ' ', actors = ' ', release_date = '2015-05-09 12:09:58Z', year = '2015', genres = ' ', certification = ' ', language = ' ', tagline = ' ', summary = 'Come along with the Care Bearsâ„¢ for more friendship-filled adventures among the clouds and rainbows of Care-a-lot! Whether it''s teaching Grumpy how to ride a bicycle or becoming detectives to help Grizzle find his missing best friend, the Care Bears discover the true meaning of teamwork. Along the way, they also learn how important it is to always tell friends the truth. So hop on your bicycle and join the care bears at Rainshine Meadow for eight enchanting tales of caring, sharing, and fun!', studios = ' ', collections = ' ', plotkeywords = ' ', score = '0', popularity = '0', date_added = '2013-11-10 17:05:58Z', runtime = '0', imdb_id = ' ', originaldirectoryname = ' ', primary_source = '3', alternatecovers = ' ', coverfullpath = ' ', coverthumbfullpath = ' ', backdropfullpath = ' ', details_url = ' ' where id = 6

    Please fix that first:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/16_Support/Troubleshooting/Repair_SQLite_Database

    After that, please post fresh and concurrent log files from both client and server, and be sure to note whether the TV service is still running after reproducing the problem.
     
  7. ben1210
    • Premium Supporter

    ben1210 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 2, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for this. I did note the Moving Pictures DB errors.

    When I disabled Moving Pictures then Live TV works perfectly. So problem solved.....almost

    However I just cant fix the DB using the instructions provided as naturally I want the Moving Pictures back working, I get as far as being in the folder in cmd but nothing happens when I insert 'pragma integrity_check' it just tabs down to the next line. I'm probably doing something that should be simple incorrectly.

    I have tried using an earlier restore point for the TV DB file but that didnt work.

    I really dont want to re-install windows have you any more advice to get this DB fixed?

    Thanks for all your kind help
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I don't understand why you can't follow the instructions.They're intended to help you get MovingPictures back working.
    Note the comment in the linked wiki page:
    That means they can be applied to the MovingPictures DB file. The name of the MovingPictures DB file is "movingpictures.db3", as given in my previous post. Follow the instructions, substituting references to VideoDatabaseV5.db3 for movingpictures.db3 and you should be good to go.

    If worst comes to worst, you can simply delete the movingpictures.db3 file, and re-import to recreate its contents.

    TV DB file?!? :confused:

    Reinstalling Windows would be a huuuge over-reaction. Please don't do that.
    Like I said above, if worst comes to worst you can simply delete the movingpictures.db3 file... but I have the impression that you've misunderstood something.

    Regards,
    mm
     
  9. ben1210
    • Premium Supporter

    ben1210 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 2, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    AH

    When I said TV DB file I meant the videodatabaseV5.db5. But thats the wrong file anyway!!

    I deleted movingpictures.db3, enabled moving pictures and all is fine. Just a case of re-importing contents

    Case closed and thanks again for your patience !!!!

    :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. ben1210
    • Premium Supporter

    ben1210 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 2, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    And the PC that we fixed above worked for a couple of days and then the network connection issue started again last night at about 11.30pm. Basically I can watch TV for about 5 to 15 minutes after which the screen freezes and MP error messages come up - cannot connect to mysql database, cannot connect to remote control and please check your firewall settings.

    I notice when closing down MP the network icon in the system tray has a yellow exclamation mark and it can fix itself which gives a message 'The default gateway is not available' Fixed. This then allows MP Live TV to work again for 5-10 minutes.

    I have client logs and server logs attached, please advise thanks
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks! :)

    From a server perspective: the server notes that the client disconnects...
    [2015-05-27 23:30:35,914] [Log ] [HeartBeatMonitor] [INFO ] - Controller: Heartbeat Monitor - kicking idle user Frontroom-PC

    ...but it just keeps on trucking. So, it looks like the server is okay.

    Ahhhh, I see.

    You said other clients don't have a problem, right? ...only this one particular client (?).

    Normally such a message might point to a router/switch (or Broadband modem) issue, because the default gateway is usually configured to be the router in a local network. However, if the other devices on the network don't experience any problems, it's more likely that the problem is limited to the specific device (in this case: this specific client PC).

    To completely rule out the router/switch...
    Have you tried swapping the port that the client is connected to on the router/switch (to eliminate the possibility of a bad port)?
    Does the router/switch have a log that you can get to, and if so, is there anything interesting in it that coincides with the periods when you have connection problems?

    To determine which element (hardware or software - OS, driver etc.) of the client is at fault...
    Do you happen to have a wireless or wired network card (or even an alternative network adaptor) that you could try (to see if it has the same problem)?
    Are you sure you have the right network adaptor driver installed?

    Note: I'm assuming the network cable itself is okay, since you had problems with HomePlug too.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!