[WiP] - madVR support in MP1 | Page 497

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Sebastiii, March 20, 2016.

  1. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15,852
    Likes Received:
    5,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +9,863 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Thanks :)

    The best will be the same MP version on different case to rules out where is the culprit lol :p
    It seems that togglescreen windowed / fullscreen (fast enough when start playing a sample stay en alt+enter for maybe 30s to 1minute) then stop and start to renderstats ('!' key) and after a while -> D3D null reference exception.


     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kenwonders
    • Premium Supporter

    kenwonders MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +762 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Have just tried but can't replicate that.. I was actually quite impressed at how madVR doesn't flicker during the test.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. daWooky
    • Premium Supporter

    daWooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    379
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +884 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    can't reproduce it either... all versions that i have tested resulted in blackscreens with reboot or even a full frezze after tv.
    i'll try it once again with a good old 1607 anniversary image, before i update on the new bullshit bingo flight :LOL::p
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. rohnfe

    rohnfe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 9, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +171 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am on the
    • latest Win 10 creators update (Fall Update)
    • latest version of MP in first Post
    • latest MadVR
    • Nvidia drivers last version (have not installed the newest Spectre/Meltdown fixed one)
    Let me know if i can be of any help testing something! :)

    The only that does not seem to be working for me is 3D in windowed mode and HDR files do not play correctly any more (starts with a lot of stutter and blackscreen, after a while the video will play but the TV does not switch to HDR )
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. joecrow
    • Premium Supporter

    joecrow MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    576
    Ratings:
    +1,007 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Lots of testing today in the hope of getting a base fully functional MP on my Desktop (with FCU and latest (17.12.2 AMD vid. drivers). Testing with TV, OV and HD vids (including the 4K Elysium demo) mostly in windowed mode with the occaisional toggle to fullscreen and back:-
    1) MP 1.8 Final- No Madvr crashes, just a single incident of a partial hang while navigating (kind of a 15sec hiccup) but no crash (Madvr or MP) which cleared and continued OK. Same test type on my HTPC (MP 1.18 Final, Win 10, 1703 with a slightly older 17.11.2 AMD vid. driver) all 100% OK.
    2) MP 1.19 pre- On my Desktop PC, same tests, Madvr crashes quite quickly.
    3) V9 based on earlier testing I thought this was OK but sadly after a very long time this also gave a Madvr crash.:(
    Reran 2&3 with an old AMD driver (17.7.2), with same result.
    4) v430 after new install of AMD 17.12.1 driver, failed quite quickly. I then enabled the FCU workarround and have had no problems since.:p Not sure if this gives a clue as to what is happening, I will continue testing and get back if I do get further problems.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15,852
    Likes Received:
    5,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +9,863 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Guys big thanks :)
    I'm trying also to test old version and find where can be the culprit too
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15,852
    Likes Received:
    5,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +9,863 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Here we go for the V431, it seems better about the D3D null reference exception :p
    @joecrow hope it will be better for you too :)
     
    Last edited: January 14, 2018
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. daWooky
    • Premium Supporter

    daWooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    379
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +884 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    thanks seb,
    here are some logs from yesterday on the previous version
    damn strange.. it worked for hours but then on next start or stop a fullreset or freeze or....
    IMAG0921.jpg
    also available in a green and with nvidia dll....:LOL:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15,852
    Likes Received:
    5,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +9,863 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for logs :)
    Will look more in detail but the BSOD can happen on my side with exclusive mode at least on DEV PC it happen so much that i didn't try it anymore but i was also able to reproduce it with mpc-hc so it's a bug in nvidia + windows i think.

    The annivers MediaPortalLogs_13_01_18__00_40.zip was with the latest installer ? (from the previous post V431) ?
    I have also updated the first post with V433 because i have noticed a freeze when doing pause so added something and i wasn't able to reproduce it lol :p
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. kenwonders
    • Premium Supporter

    kenwonders MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    412
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +762 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Hi daWooky, I only get BSOD on 390 version NVIDIA driver, yesterday I removed this with DDU and let WU install 388.71. There have been zero issues in latest MP since doing this, including this mornings Kid based OV hammering :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!