MCE Remote not working after reinstall

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by dazpp, March 21, 2017.

  1. dazpp

    dazpp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5
    I just reinstalled the whole mediabox I have.

    Now I notice that not many buttons on the remote works.
    I have set it up with HID device and undre there I have "Enabled HID" and "Use HID Keyboard" "Profile = Full"



    Still numbers don't work. and the green button can't start mediaportal even though I have MPtray launched.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +962 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    What is the make and model number of your remote? What receiver are you using?

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  4. dazpp

    dazpp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5
    I have this combination whcih worked fully before I reinstalled the box: Vision HT Series - ASRock Inc.
     
  5. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +962 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    From the page referenced, the remote control looks like a standard MCE remote control (it has the "Green Marble" button to start WMC). However, it also looks like the IR receiver is built into the case, which may indicate that it is non-standard in some way. So I regret that I cannot offer any advice on how to get this working. :(

    If you changed something when you re-installed your system (different version of Windows? different version of MP?), all I can suggest is that you re-install again, reverting to the software versions that you used previously. Otherwise, I think that you will need to purchase a new MCE-compatible RC6 remote control with matching IR receiver. :(

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  6. dazpp

    dazpp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5
    Nothing has changed. I ran everything on win10 64bit and doing the same now. It is not a non-standard receiver as it is a bundle.
    It worked fine with default settings before. All I had to do before was to enable HID.
    Although the old install was an upgrade from real long time ago. I think I installed it on 1.1 or something like that and upgraded it over and over. Also running Win7 initially when installing the box first time and upgraded that one to Win10. All in place upgrade so nothing has been reinstalled during this time.

    I'm not about to reinstall from win7 and MP 1.1 and upgrade all the way through to get this working again. Something must be wrong somewhere.
     
    • Missing System Logs and/or Specs Missing System Logs and/or Specs x 1
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @dazpp
    I strongly suggest you provide log files if you'd like further assistance. That way people can at least check your config.
    Further, you might want to try the HID Demo:
    HID Demo
     
    Last edited: March 22, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. dazpp

    dazpp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5
    Which specific logs do you want?
    I'll collect them when I get back home again.
     
  9. dazpp

    dazpp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5
    I tried HID Demo and it registers all buttons on the remote so there must be som econfig issue in MP1

    in MP1 1.16 Pre release it's the default config for the HID device and I havn't done any modification to it.
     
  10. dazpp

    dazpp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5
    I have collected the logs now when I try buttons that doesn't work in MP
    I've looked at them and there are no referenses to any of that what I can see.
     
    • Missing System Logs and/or Specs Missing System Logs and/or Specs x 1
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The answer to this question is always "all of them". Please use the provided Watchdog tool. It collects the information that we need into a nice tidy zip file for you to attach.

    Not necessarily. It depends on the usage collection/page and usages that the remote's receiver is generating. To that end, it would be helpful to attach a screenshot of the HID Demo showing some of the inputs it managed to pick up.

    Thanks for trying. Unfortunately those log files are no good for me because they're TV Server log files. They won't show input from the remote control. What I need are MediaPortal log files from the Watchdog tool.
    To be specific, please:
    1. Open MediaPortal Config.
    2. Navigate to the "remotes and input devices" section -> HID tab.
    3. Tick "extended logging".
    4. Click OK to save and close MP Config.
    5. Start the Watchdog tool.
    6. Select option 1 ("report a bug...").
    7. Click proceed to start MP.
    8. Once MP has loaded, try to press a range of buttons on the remote.
    9. Close MP.
    10. Attach ("upload a file") the zip file produced by the Watchdog to your next reply.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!