[Help Us!] - more of OS properties to log | Page 3

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Vasilich, December 14, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    you know that MP is written in c#, right? :cautious:


     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,701
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,652 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    Yes, all the time, and it works up to 10 windows (Free Pascal, Delphi). :D

    PS: AutoScript:
    Code (Text):
    1. Local $sVar = RegRead("HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE64\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update\Results\Install", "LastSuccessTime")
    2. MsgBox(0,0, "last updated:" & $sVar)
     
  4. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,701
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,652 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    I do not know the nuances of C #. Therefore, I could be wrong.
     
  5. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    w10 doesn't have this registry entry - i assume because winUpdate function is somewhat ... weird in w10.
     
  6. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,701
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,652 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    So it's a wrapper over function. Since it works. In MePoTools have a code to receive information about the version of windows. Tested at 10, everything is fine.
    PS: I'm talking about the branch HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE64
     
  7. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,701
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,652 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
  8. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    i don't know what f5 company does - show me any entry of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE64 on MSDN.

    moreover, what do you want to achieve with HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE64 for us? Is there any function in MP that doesn't work on x64 OSes?
     
    Last edited: December 15, 2015
  9. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,701
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,652 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    On MSDN - RegOpenKeyEx with atribute KEY_WOW64_64KEY - But it's clean WinAPI
    Implementation of access to the registry branch in different languages of all the languages used wrappers over WinAPI, and therefore different designs. In fact, in the registry database, these branches can be. When a 64 bit program accesses the registry in a 64 bit system, she immediately give the desired branch. But if the 32 bit program wants access to a 64-bit branch, she, it is necessary to tell the system about it. And in each language for that its mechanisms.
     
  10. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    yes, MP uses this KEY_WOW64_64KEY since ages (since x64 windows appeared on the market). That is why i don't understand what do you want to do with your HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE64 as everything works properly on MP side.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,701
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,652 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    I do not know about it. :coffee: When problem occurred, I suggested that maybe it will help. :whistle: Moreover, the utility and the MP are different things. :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!