MP-4210 Live Commercial Skip

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by sccrgoalie1, January 7, 2014.

  1. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Please help test out live commercial skip detection for Media Portal 1. Live Commercial Skip detection uses .edl files, so we'll need to edit our comskip.ini file to make sure we get the right kind of files. This maintains legacy support of .txt commercial files as well.

    1. Find your comskip.ini file and open it in notepad or similar. Edit the line output_edl=0 to output_edl=1 and update live_tv=0 to live_tv=1.
    2. If you use Comskip launcher make sure you've set when to start as Recording Start
    3. In C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\ rename MediaPortal.exe to MediaPortal.exe.old and paste the attached MediaPortal.exe file in that folder
    4. In C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\ rename Core.dll to Core.dll.old and paste the attached Core.dll in that folder
    5. If you use RSTP you'll need to stop the TVService and then go to the C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\ and rename the TVService.exe to TVService.exe.old and paste the attached TVService.exe in that folder. Restart the TVService
    6. If you use RSTP you'll need to go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\plugins\Windows and rename TVPlugin.dll to TVPlugin.dll.old and paste the attached TVPlugin.dll in that folder.
    7. You'll want to configure some buttons to use the new actions to give you better control of Commercial Skipping. This is done in the Media Portal Configuration
    a. ACTION_TOGGLE_AUTO_COMMERCIAL_SKIP - Allows you to toggle auto commercial skipping on and off during a show. This is necessary for the next action to work.
    b. ACTION_STEP_BACK_PREVIOUS_JUMP - Allows you to skip back to the place you jumped from, which is very useful for an errorneous detection. Make sure you toggle off auto commercial skip first otherwise you'll jump again right away.

    Let me know how it goes!



    ** EDIT **
    Updated the branch with current master.
    Updated installer based on 1.9 Pre Release can be downloaded here >> HERE <<
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: March 9, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    I forget to upload log about my issue with you branch (when changing channel, on new channel i have old timishift file from previous channel or directly the old channel)
    It like i have a (i don't find the word in english lol) offset maybe of one channel.
    For example :
    Tune CH1 -> black screen -> Tune CH2 (Here CH1 is displayed) -> Tune CH3 (Here CH2 is displayed)
    Or
    Tune CH1 -> CH1 is displayed -> Tune CH2 (CH1 is displayed for a while or always but most of the time CH2 appear after 30/1 min) -> etc.

    It seems to happen when i have a delay to decrypt my channel (related to my CAM or something) and then i run into those issue.
    I also notice that for Example ARTE channel (has multiple tuning and then the delay is increase when the first tuning detail failed CAM or whatever and then a second tuning detail is tuned).

    Without the branch, i didn't run into such issue. (I need to resetup the configuration with multiple tuning details to reproduce the issue and supply log).

    I think for user where the channel is decrypted directly (so FTA channel or only 1 tuning detail), we didn't run into the issue i describe :).
     
  4. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    When you don't use this branch, do you turn off live commercial skip as well? This issue you describe may have nothing to do with the branch, rather it's an issue with using comskip for live detection, as more resources are required and opening and closing files takes more time.
     
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I don't use comskip lol :)
    If i'm not wrong, when i revert this branch all was ok, it seems that something is done on timeshift. (trigger by this branch)
    Will provide log :)
     
  6. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Now this is working really nice for me with UNC paths (no RTSP).
    I started a recording (commercial was on that time) and waited about 10 minutes. Then started playback of the recording and checked the OSD, which shows a nice detection of the commercial:
    CommercialDetected.png
    After a couple of seconds it auto-skipped till after the commercial:
    CommercialSkipped.png

    Nice work!! I always record the shows and start watching 30/45 minutes later, because i HATE those commercials :)
    Now skipping is done automatically also, so nice job @sccrgoalie1 (y)

    And some time later the 2nd commercial is also detected:
    17-28-23.png :p

    Then tried to delete the recording >> Failed (obviously it's locked by ComSkip), but it did end the recording.
    10 seconds later i could manually delete it. (y)
     
    Last edited: January 11, 2014
    • Like Like x 2
  7. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Will this replace comskip? aka commercial skipping for free?? :)
     
  8. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Nope, ComSkip is NEEDED for this to work properly ;)
    But since ComSkip is free (or purchased for $10++ for a lifetime), you can have it for (almost) free.
     
  9. krokusmtl

    krokusmtl Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    I tried it by changing the 2 files as per the instruction. Single seat.
    When starting mediaportal.exe I get a critical error "failed to load your language!" then black screen
    MediaPortal Configuration crashes right away.

    That would awesome if we could get this to work.
     
  10. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Is there a target version for this feature to be implemented into the MePo main branch? Hilarious stuff!
     
  11. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Target dates are mostly listed in JIRA.
    Thread title references to the JIRA Issue key > MP1-4210
    Fix Version/s: 1.7.100 (1.8 Pre Release)

    So if all goes well and everything is tested properly, it will be included in about 3 months.

    So test and report please! :D
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!