MP1-4420: Potential Fix for the broken Startup Delay on resume | Page 3

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by HomeY, July 30, 2014.

  1. michael_t

    michael_t Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ratings:
    +813 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    My MediaPortal.exe is for MP 1.9 pre-release (exactly: 1.8.100.0). HomeY's version should be something like 1.8.100.xxx, so it is incomaptible with my MediaPortal.exe by version number. I am sorry, but you have to reinstall 1.9 pre-release to test my fix...



    Michael
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. pdiaz
    • Premium Supporter

    pdiaz MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 5, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Thanks Michael. For the life of me I can't find a link to the 1.9 Pre-release for download. Could you post the link?
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The official 1.9 PR is not available yet, so my interpretation is that you'd have to build MediaPortal from source code in order to use Michael's version. Having said that, the official version shouldn't be too far away now...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Brudertac
    • Premium Supporter

    Brudertac MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 26, 2006
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Ratings:
    +277 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    had a Crash to Desktop after Resume from S3 and start livetv. I am not sure that this is related to this Build but i wanted to let you know. Log Files are attached.

    Thanks!
     
  6. michael_t

    michael_t Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ratings:
    +813 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I cannot find the crash in the logs. At what day / time was it?

    Michael

    PS: You have no resume delay configured, so testing my version does not make much sense in terms of functionality, but only for regression. Anyway: Thank you for testing and reporting!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Brudertac
    • Premium Supporter

    Brudertac MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 26, 2006
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Ratings:
    +277 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    It was today at 17:40. So the last / newest Log entry should show something.

    I disabled Delay on Resume yesterday to see if Resume works fine without it. With 1.8 i had issues with that.
    (Crash on Resume, or better - no reaction to Keyboard or Mouse, so only "Kill the Task" helped, but MP was not crashed)

    And for now Resume without Delay works also fine. :) Is that something that could belong to your changes?
     
  8. struppi21
    • Premium Supporter

    struppi21 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 29, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bayern
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have tested 1.9_Pre release and the MediaPortal.exe of michael_t (# 2) but it does not work on my system.

    I had the same issue as described at my bug report for 1.8.0_FINAL:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...ume-from-standby-at-different-actions.127012/
    The older version from HoneY had fixed my problem (MediaPortalSetup_1.8.0-96-g638ec25_(MP1-4420-BUG-Startup_resume_not_used_correctly_fix_multiple_POWERBROADCAST_branch)_for_TESTING_ONLY_2014-07-29-19-32.exe)
     
  9. Brudertac
    • Premium Supporter

    Brudertac MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 26, 2006
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Ratings:
    +277 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thats bad.

    I can say that we have not a single Crash after Wakeup from Resume with 1.9pre.
    And i don´t need the "Wait x seconds on Resume" function anymore with 1.9pre. Wakeup works fine every time.
     
  10. michael_t

    michael_t Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ratings:
    +813 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Please could you describe shortly what you did and what happened on your system (the discussion in the thread refernced is a bit lengthy and I do not know what you mean exactly). From the logs I cannot see any crash, but this does not say much...

    Michael
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. struppi21
    • Premium Supporter

    struppi21 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 29, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bayern
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    With the following steps MP always freeze on my system:
    resume MP from standby.
    Go to the recordings.
    Watch a recorded tv.
    Press EXIT on the remote to return to the recordings menu.
    Press INFO on the remote(F9 on keyboard) to open the info menu.
    Then the GUI is frozen and I have to kill the application.

    I have no problem if I close MP and start it again after the resume from standby.

    P.S. I want to open the info menu to delete the viewed recording.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!