[MP1-4838] Volume control no longer functions properly when changing audio device | Page 6

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Rick164, January 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Added small tweaks for some of NAudio's shortcomings but is finally ready for review and testing in 1.17 :)


     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Btw for 1.17 we can also remove the "Hide Windows Volume OSD" setting as that is no longer needed, kept it in but it really does nothing now as like before with AudioSwitcher the new library (NAudio) will not trigger that OSD.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I have pushed the branch in MP1 repo along with NSIS and postbuild change :p
    Yep we could remove that option is not neede anymore (hide volume) :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Here for quick testing part before going back to work :p

    1- OSD is not working/displayed when no playback is running (so staying on GUI from MyVideo for ex)
    2- OSD didn't react when i change the Volume directly from windows speaker icon.
    3- OSD with + and - when something is played (sample AVI)

    This is a quick test so maybe i need to setup some option :p

    Edit : after an MP restart volume OSD works (+ and - and mute) but i can see only the mute OSD (on or off) if i just use - or + otherwise the volume mute off or on but no OSD displayed lol.

    upload_2017-1-11_13-39-31.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    That's odd, it should pick the default device on startup and return it when not playing, will test here in VM :)

    Yeah that's normal behavior atm, Mediaportal is leading and used as dedicated volume control (overrules external)
    AudioSwitcher had some options for that and NAudio as well with event based changes (albiet a bit more obscure), could add that with some extra code but needs checks so we don't set volume double then :):

    That change basically:
    http://stackoverflow.com/a/31972775

    If volume change is from device used in Mediaportal it will trigger the Mediaportal OSD that way.

    Could be device related but tested that part with Realtek and HDMI sources, does it show any volume change in windows sys tray?

    // Update

    Added external volume monitoring as well which will listen on the device Mediaportal started with or when it switches during playback events:

    https://github.com/RickDB/MediaPortal-1/commit/f25e95407585b841c2b4450927c2e75365e29252
     
    Last edited: January 11, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I was thinking before when moving volume MP react to it but maybe i'm wrong :p
    But if you can add this, it would be nice ofc :)

    Yes it react :) only OSD is not updated until i press + or - but i will retry when at home :p
    And thanks for adding it.

    Did you rebase your local branch against MP1 repo (if yes or no) can you add the commit about NSIS into yours ?
    Thanks again.
     
  8. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Not re-based yet but only mixer.cs changes so should be clean merge :)
    Testing some things now and seeing a possible lock from the objects it had from the old code, will see if that is causing it.

    // Update

    Object lock seems to be obsolete now so removed that and pushed:

    https://github.com/RickDB/MediaPortal-1/commit/a71855cf69a112e4081aa916ea75377fc11bb18c

    For + and - not working it might be a device mismatch, once you're home we can test further on IRC with some added debug logging.
    During startup it will report the device used for volume control (default device):

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. [2017-01-11 15:31:57,737] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [INFO ] - Mixer: default audio device: DENON-AVRHD-0 (NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    3. )

    Yeah not sure, never really used the volume handling of Mediaportal (all bitstreamed) but my brother does so will force him to be a tester :p

    Also just fixed a typo for mute (forgot to use value) :sleep: , for the brave few who want to test out latest build attached it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: January 11, 2017
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    That's better :)
    Only one issue is mute button i need to mute twice to have it muted or correctly displayed as muted on OSD :p

    Otherwise windows slider react correctly with OSD one on MP etc. :p
    Nice nice :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Yeah double mute should be fixed in latest commit, in rare cases can happen if you press it rapidly but might be NAudio issue (not sure yet) :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,520
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,251 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hey, i have merged the branch, but yesterday morning,
    I have mp freeze when move windows audio slider. I have see an commit where can solve mp hang on this. I will update my setup

    Envoyé de mon P01MA en utilisant Tapatalk
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!