[fixed] - [MP2-611] Having problems with subtitles (ATSC)

Discussion in '2.2 Archive' started by Gcarr, April 21, 2019.

  1. Gcarr
    • Premium Supporter

    Gcarr MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 17, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal 2 Version: 2.2.1

    Description
    I'm having trouble getting TV subtitles to work. What happens is that an ActiveMovie window opens up, usually right on top of the TV show and no subtitles appear. When I go to the information display and select the subtitle option, a small empty box opens up. Clicking on it makes it go away but nothing really happens. .srt subtitles seem to work fine. I searched the forums and found some similar symptoms from about 2 years ago but those seem to have been resolved.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Enable ATSC subtitles in settings. Start client, select TV, open information bar to select subtitle, empty box is displayed for subtitle option.


     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,818
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,416 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Disable the other sub options in the settings and keep only ATSC.

    Then there are no subs in your video source to display.
     
    Last edited: April 21, 2019
  4. Gcarr
    • Premium Supporter

    Gcarr MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 17, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Still the same thing, the AcitveMovie window popup, and no closed captions are displaying.
    But, there are closed captions, I verified this with a separate player.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,818
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,416 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Alright, we were not able to test the ATSC feature here in Europe. Can you upload a short snipnof your file (a few minutes) to some place and post the link for us to take a look?

    @aspik, this could be of interest to you.
     
  6. Gcarr
    • Premium Supporter

    Gcarr MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 17, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I'm having trouble finding a place I can put the file for you. It's about 116mb. Do you have any suggestions?
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,818
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,416 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    GoogleDrive, OneDrive?
     
  8. Gcarr
    • Premium Supporter

    Gcarr MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 17, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Try this. I've never used it before so I'm not sure. Mediaportal – Google Drive

    edit: I included the extracted srt file just so you'd know it really had closed captions
     
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,818
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,416 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @aspik, with just ATSC activated in the settings subtitles appear indeed in a separate window in both FullScreen and Window mode of MP2.

    ATSC window.jpg
     
  10. Gcarr
    • Premium Supporter

    Gcarr MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 17, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Weird, my ActiveMovie window was either a white screen or a black screen. I never saw any text in that window.
     
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,818
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,416 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Subtitles work as expected, unfortunately displayed in this little window.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!