No HD picture with MP 1.0 | Page 7

Discussion in '1.0 final and SVN Builds' started by wjw, January 5, 2009.

  1. doogle

    doogle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 24, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Yes, a recording of a HD channel plays fine in my videos using PDVD8 with HW acc


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    And this is what i do not understand..... because if the TV-Server is running on the same PC, then there is no real difference between tuning this channel in MyTV, and playing the recording in MyVideos (in both cases TSreader.ax is used).

    I have been testing MyTV + PowerDVD8(+ latest update) and hw-decoding=on during the weekend.
    I am not able to reproduce this issue. I can watch the HD channel i have access to without problems.

    So i am running out of ideas on this issue. :(
     
  4. doogle

    doogle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 24, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    yes, it's very odd. But at least I can consistently recreate the issue, so maybe you do not have a clean build? Has the tsreader.ax changed between RC3 and MP 1.0 ?? Maybe you could explain the role of this file and also tswriter.ax and if there are other similar files that could have changed?
     
  5. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    *lol*
    sorry, but assuming that i do not have a clean built/installation is.... well... funny :p

    Actually i start to wonder, if it is something specific in your setup.
    Because if there would be a general issue with h.264 LiveTV + PowerDVD, you can be sure that this would have been noticed by our team, and forums would go mad with bugreports.

    I am sorry, but i can not help you any further. Maybe someone else has an idea. :sorry:
     
  6. doogle

    doogle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 24, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    I'm glad I was able to amuse you. It's good to laugh.

    However, my problem is solved by using MP 1.0 client with RC3 TV server - I made no changes to my setup between RC3 & MP 1.0. There was at least one other person that had same issue.

    Maybe while you are falling off your stool, you might want to review the forums ! :oops:
     
  7. wjw

    wjw Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 13, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have been following this thread with interest, even though the replacement tsreader.ax file solved my problem.

    In view of all the above, I now have a question about future releases. Which version of the tsreader code will be included? Was there an odd bug which affected only a few users? It seems strange that there have been so few reports of this particular problem - there must surely be many users receiving HD channels who have now upgraded to 1.0.
     
  8. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    the tsreader.ax filter is currently been worked on. but i can not tell you if this will cure the issues reported in here.
    the main cause of the problem seems to be the combination of TsReader.ax + video filters

    some combinations simply do not work atm. BUT this issue seems to be stream specific (TV-Channel/provider), it is not a general issue which occurs with all HD Channels in the world.
    even worse, it does not occur with any HD Channels our team members are able to receive. so we can not reproduce this issue at all.

    so right now my advice is to test different video-codecs and stick with the working one until we have more news on the rework of TsReader.
     
  9. doogle

    doogle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 24, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Can I suggest that there may be a difference between BBC HD channel on DVB-S and h.264/mpeg4 channels in Ireland on DVB-T in terms of specifications of encoding/decoding?

    I am reliably informed that the Irish DVB-T service is the same as that in Sweden and Denmark - perhaps there is a MP user there that could test the reception of mpeg4 channels using MP 1.0.
     
  10. doogle

    doogle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 24, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    It turns out that AC3 Filter causes a problem with MPEG-4 DVB-T Irish channels when used with PDVD8. I now use MPA Decoder which also allows AC3 audio on BBC HD. This means that I can use hardware acceleration.

    So all is well and stable with my setup - the next step after a calm period will be to look forward to the maint release.

    Thanks for all comments and help.
     
  11. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    nice finding!

    i also had issues with AC3 filter in the past which was the reason that i started to use MPA.
    turned out that AC3 filter has no pro at all in my setup/usecase, MPA does a nice job here. :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!