(original thread) MCE Replacement Plugin v1.0.0 | Page 43

Discussion in 'IR Server Suite (IRSS)' started by and-81, September 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. and-81
    • Team MediaPortal

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    It's in the zip file along with the latest version of this plugin on page 41 of this thread, here:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/showpost.php?p=100460&postcount=401

    Hope that helps,


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tesamu

    tesamu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 4, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rogaland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Hi

    Now I have tried the new dll. Sorry to report it doesn't work. However there is progress.

    Now it waits to learn a button, but times out with message 'IR Learned'. However the IR-file in sub-dir. IR\ is empty. No blasting either.

    I have tried this from another location than Program Files too, but same result.
    From configuration.log:

    2007-01-02 15:55:26.190613 [Info.][Config Main]: MCEReplacement: IR file "C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\plugins\Process\MCEReplacement\IR\0.IR" has no data, possible IR learn failure

    I copied one of the ir-files for another STB and got this error:
    2007-01-02 17:00:26.864956 [ERROR][Config Main]: MCEReplacement: Failed to blast IR file "C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\plugins\Process\MCEReplacement\IR\0.IR"

    Have tried both ports.

    I can use the remote to control MediaPortal.

    Anything else I can do?

    Thanks
     
  4. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Wooops......

    Finally got time enough to install 0.2.2.0 w/SVNs - now the BIG problem is that I can't use this plugin, as it is not supported ???

    Tried both 1.0 and 1.0.1 ver. of the plugin. What am I missing?
     
  5. trevor

    trevor Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    922
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +951 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yep, found it just after I sent that...was looking in the wrong place...sorry. Just to confirm the plugin works fine on the setup I have here using the external command to change channels...all be it a tad slow for the channel to change, 5 secs on the same card and about 10 if changing channel and card, think that is just the was the tvserver works though...
     
  6. and-81
    • Team MediaPortal

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I noticed a change in the SVN yesterday (-ish) that might break the plugin again, so I'll do a recompile against SVN and see if there are any problems.

    I should have an answer/download available by tomorrow.

    Cheers,
     
  7. and-81
    • Team MediaPortal

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    There are a number of reasons why that file might not work, it was worth a shot though. I'll look into it further, but I'll probably have to install Vista myself to get it working. I've got a spare hard disk laying around so I'll install it on that and see what I can do.

    I WILL get it working. I promise. It just might take some time.

    I'll post back when I have progress.

    Watch this space.
     
  8. tesamu

    tesamu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 4, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rogaland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Good morning (local time)

    Yes I believe there can be several issues, and it is not easy to solve them without having the OS.

    Thank you for all the good work sofar and good luck.
     
  9. wewe

    wewe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 3, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Herxheim
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi all,

    I read a lot about versionning and SVN's here.

    I am on a "clean" 0.2.2.0 and want to give the MCE driver replacement a try.

    Is that possible? Or do I have to wait for a "stable version" of the plugin?

    (By the way: I am using VLC as external DVD player and want to control it with my MCE remote instead of using my hauppauge remote)

    thanks&regards
    WeWe
     
  10. and-81
    • Team MediaPortal

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    wewe:

    You can download the test version of the plugin from this post here:

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/showpost.php?p=100460&postcount=401

    It is compiled to run on clean 0.2.2.0 installations. If you have any problems let me know and I'll sort it out for you.

    If no-one comes back with any issues with the test version of the plugin then I'll be putting it on the main download section soon.

    Note that if you are going to use an external app for your DVD player then you will lose control over it if you move to the replacement driver. If you keep the default driver and the external app supports the MCE remote then it will work fine. Even if the external app doesn't directly support the MCE remote some buttons (arrows, etc) will work anyway with the default driver.

    If you want to get the benefits of the replacement driver AND control external apps you should look at using HIP or Girder and putting the plugin into Message Mode. There's information on this in the docs that come with the plugin.

    @Everyone else:

    I've compiled a version for SVN. A change just went in to MP SVN that made a seperate compile necessary.

    You can get the modified plugin DLL back on this post:

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/showpost.php?p=100460&postcount=401

    Cheers,
     
  11. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for fast bug-fix!
    Great work!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!