(original thread) MCE Replacement Plugin v1.0.0 | Page 48

Discussion in 'IR Server Suite (IRSS)' started by and-81, September 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tazman

    Tazman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Is there a way to get this plugin working with 0.2.2.0 and latest cvs??


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tolmor

    Tolmor Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 29, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Great. And if you need something testet out on Vista, if the answer comes to you in your dreams or something, i'll gladly test it out for you on my Vista machine. :)
     
  4. wewe

    wewe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 3, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Herxheim
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Okay ... this is for sure the wrong place to ask but here is a lot of knowhow and experience around and I only need a hint:

    I am using the MCE replacement plugin.

    Now I want to use HIP to control an external application (VLC) but I don't want to change something for MP.

    How do I tell HIP to send commands to VLC but to "just passthrough" when MP is in front? Whenever I activate HIP MP is not more controlled by my MCE remote. Nothing happens when pressing keys ...

    thanks+regards
    WeWe
     
  5. and-81
    • Premium Supporter

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    If you want to use HIP at the same time as the plugin then you need to put the plugin into message mode and import the message mode settings into HIP.

    Give that a try and see how you go.

    Just for anyone who's interested, there is a forum just for HIP here:
    http://forums.dvbowners.com/index.php?showforum=44

    Cheers,
     
  6. and-81
    • Premium Supporter

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Test version

    Hey everyone,

    I've got a new version of the plugin for testing.

    EDIT: One page ahead is a newer test version...

    There are three (EDIT: four) main changes that I'd like some feedback on:

    1. I now have an installer for the plugin. It gives you the option to choose between an 0.2.2.0 and SVN version of the plugin as well as other optional components (ie. Replacement driver files and replacement tray app). The installation was getting too complicated, but with the installer it's dead simple.

    2. I've made modifications to the MceIr.dll file (which provides access to the MCE remote transceiver). These changes let you specify the manufacturer of your remote box (Microsoft or SMK) which should overcome the Blaster Port 2 only problem that people with SMK (Hauppage) transceivers have. And it also lets you set a blasting speed, which will hopefully fix problems some people have had getting the IR blasting to control some equipment.

    3. I've moved the user files (IR codes, Macros, etc...) to the "Application Data" folder, hopefully this makes the plugin more Vista friendly (even though it wont work on Vista yet). This also means you'll need to take your existing IR and Macro files and move them into the right folders after you install this new test version.

    4. The user interface has been changed a little. I've made it resizable and maximizable, as well as putting blaster configuration, multi-mapping, event mapper, and different remote all onto tabs on the main setup window. It's still not the most user-friendly gui, but it's an improvement (I hope).

    The attached test version does support the latest SVN, so if you've been waiting for that, wait no more. However SVN still doesn't have the patch to fix scheduled recordings of external channels. And as I said earlier, I won't be releasing this new version until that's been solved.

    Other changes in this version include:
    - Compiled html help that is accessable from within the plugin configuration.
    - Start menu shortcuts to the documentation, replacement driver files, mce replacement tray, and uninstaller.

    So if you're interested, download it, give it a go, and please let me know how you get on. Even just a short reply to say that it's all good will be much appreciated.

    Cheers,
     
  7. mba

    mba Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 16, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    hi and-81

    thank you for your hard work on this plugin. I tried it yesterday with the previous version and got the same result as Tazman, no support for 0.2.2.0 nor the svn version, getting a plugin version mismatch when starting mediaportal configuration. I have now downloaded the new version, and installed it. It gave me an option whether to install svn or the 0.2.2.0, but it didn't give me options with regard to installing the replacement driver, and it hasn't replaced the eHome driver. Now when I start mediaportal config it doesn't throw an error but the plugin isn't found in the plugins list. Looking in the config.log it seems that the plugin loaded alright.


    Kind regards
    Martin
     
  8. eloo

    eloo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 20, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Medical student, medical research and computers. S
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Hi Aaron, thanks for all your hard work. This plugin should be a part of the standard package and not a plugin, its very good!
    The new speed settings seem to work well for me, would it be possible to make a Very slow setting. It seems like its working really great with my Altec Lansing equipment.
     
  9. and-81
    • Premium Supporter

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    mba:

    I'm not sure what's going wrong for you, could you try uninstalling the plugin and trying again? Also, what SVN of mediaportal are you using, you'll need 0.2.2.0 and a recent SVN if you're using the SVN version of the plugin.

    eloo:

    I don't think I can add more speed settings, but I'll look into it. So are you saying that the new speed settings let you use equipment that previously didn't work?

    Cheers,
     
  10. eloo

    eloo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 20, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Medical student, medical research and computers. S
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Seems like it. At least the frequency of understood commands have gone up. The fast setting works, but my preliminary testing shows that Slow works much much better!
     
  11. and-81
    • Premium Supporter

    and-81 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant/Developer
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +183 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Excellent. That's great to hear.

    Thanks eloo.

    mba:

    I forgot to mention ... I tried making the installer install the replacement driver, but I couldn't get it to work. So you'll need to follow the instructions in the documentation if you want to install the replacement driver. The installer just puts the relevant files on the hard disk in the "Program Files\MCE Replacement Driver" folder.

    @everyone:

    If you have any feedback on the test version, keep it coming :)

    Cheers,
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!