Plugin: MP2Extended | Page 3

Discussion in 'MP2Extended' started by FreakyJ, October 5, 2015.

  1. MrTechno
    • Team MediaPortal

    MrTechno Development Group

    Joined:
    February 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +515 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You can also restrict MP2's IP binding to certain addresses using ServerSettings.xml but I don't have an example file


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Its already bridged and e.g MPExt and webserver has no issues. Will try to install MP2 on my HTPC on Wed. to see if that works better.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I installed this plugin and see it load on the server.
    What I do not understand is
    1-How should I be testing it?
    2-Why does it not see my available IP's like the other plugins?
     
  5. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Update: I attempted to use I.E. to connect to the port
    http://192.168.1.250:53461/
    The connection is being logged in the server log but I.E. Fails to connect
     
  6. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    breese, not sure how much you can test. This is an api for developers. You should be able to test if the plugin is up by checking:
    http://192.168.1.250:53461/MPExtended/MediaAccessService/json/GetServiceDescription

    That is if the ip/port is correct in your post.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    @johanj
    One thing which needs testing is the Encoding. I don't know how you convert the byte stream back to text. I use this:
    Code (C):
    1. ASCIIEncoding enc = new ASCIIEncoding();
    2.       return enc.GetBytes(str);
    To get bytes from a string. I also could change this to UTF8 or UTF32 or whatever. Just wanted to mention this here :)

    @breese
    Yes you have to call one of these APIs here:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...s/MPExtended/Developers/API_Documentation/MAS
    Most of the TVShow API Calls are implemented, but not all ;)
     
  8. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Could you give me example results for Movies, TvShows etc? SO that I can implement this? :)

    Movies are almost implemented^^ Only two missing :p
     
  9. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    In general I think UTF8 is used but I don't need to care about that when receiving results from MPExt. The code is javascript and I use JSON.parse and JSON.stringify.

    From WifiRemote I need to UTF8 decode the text in order to get the special characters right.
     
  10. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Okay, will change it to UTF8 :)
     
  11. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    As I wrote before about GetExternalMediaInfo, it's just a container of information that can be passed to WifiRemote to either start the media or show the media in the MP gui.

    Maybe it's enough with the id in MP2, maybe you need to know exactly the Serie, season, episode etc. in order to display it in the MP2 gui.

    I'm eager to test but I think it will have to wait until tomorrow before I can install the latest MP2 on my production HTPC. This since bridging network adapter is not working with the MP2 webserver, I never managed to reach the MP2 webserver outside Windows VM.

    Btw, Emby API has a really nice swagger interface where one can see what's implemented and also see parameters and test the calls out in a webbrowser without having to do trialing with api docs. Maybe that is something to look at further on. It really simplifies using the API.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!