Refresh Rate Control Plugin | Page 6

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by ThylakoiD, June 9, 2006.

  1. renzz

    renzz Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Still no luck, I'm afraid. Putting the XML file into the same directory still doesn't enable me to save the config (and that file doesn't get written to at all).

    Also, I *still* cannot see how you force a particular refresh rate for a particular frame-rate. Under 'Events and Command" I can add a command to be run for each Refresh Rate (50 or 60 in my case), but there is nothing there that says to use a specific refresh rate for a specific frame rate. The plugin (in my case) assumes 50Hz for any files with an fps of 23.976, which is not what I want (I want 60Hz).

    Thanks for your help on this.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kenwonders
    • Premium Supporter

    kenwonders MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +766 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    I think you're misunderstanding the wording of the text. You need to click on the plus sign, then drill down: 'On refresh rate changing/Powerstrip/Change Refresh Rate'

    A new rule will appear in the list. The top box labelled 'RefreshRate event' means 'the refresh rate that the control thinks your video is'. Set this to 24 and then set the bottom box to 60.

    As for the XML, I'll see if I can find out how MP is now deciding the main log dir.
     
  4. renzz

    renzz Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, so it's referring to both the refresh rate and frame rate as "refresh rate" that threw me :confused:

    However, I think I mentioned somewhere above that my graphics card is not supported by Powerstrip, so I'm using the Command Line Option to call Multires ("On Refresh Rate Changing/Command Line") - so the "Refresh Rate Event" parameter on that - that should be set to 24 (or 25) - I was setting it to 50 and 60? I can't actually test it because of it not remembering the settings.

    But what is also confusing me is in the AVI tab I am opening a file for testing which has a 23.976 frame rate - but it says it's 50hz.
     
  5. spuck

    spuck Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 6, 2007
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    If VMR9 is used to determine the frame rate for telecined videos (1080i 29.970fps) the refresh rate would jump between 48 and 50 (Should be 60), so I don't see that as a good solution.. Why not use MediaInfo?
     
  6. kenwonders
    • Premium Supporter

    kenwonders MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2007
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +766 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    See my post on page 4, I agree, and there's a file on this page to fix it.
     
  7. Darre

    Darre Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 21, 2007
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ratings:
    +80 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Vista uses c:\programdata\team mediaportal\mediaportal for altered files(like cache). Dont know if this solves anything for you, or maybe you even knew.
     
  8. anvandarnamn

    anvandarnamn Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 15, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    hello!

    this seems to be just what i was looking for... But i can not get this to work.

    when testing a file in config no problem - it displays the framerate as it should.
    But from Mediaportal all i get is framerate 0 (viewing the logfile).

    Thanks in advance!
    Best regards!

    OK!

    now i've got it to receive the correct framerate (guess rate from vmr9)
    but it never actually changes the refresh rate, the log states so : changing to mode 72hz, but its not actually doing it....
    damn strange because I have no problem testing the commands in the config
     
  9. seco
    • Team MediaPortal

    seco Development Group

    Joined:
    August 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    897
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,234 / 4
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    How does the following scenario work with the plugin:

    If my TV supports 24Hz and 50Hz modes, and I'm watching 23.976Hz (movies) content and 25Hz (PAL TV) content, does the first one match to 24Hz and last to 50Hz (because 50Hz is multiply of 25Hz?

    Is this the way it should work, I'm I correct?
     
  10. Taipan
    • Premium Supporter

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs

    Yes, that is correct .... :)
     
  11. knutinh

    knutinh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 4, 2005
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Sorry if this is answered allready.

    I want to have my live tv viewing at 50Hz

    I want to have any movie playback at the most sensible multiplum of my display rates (50Hz and 60Hz)

    I want to have any non-video viewing done at 66Hz.

    Why? Because my LCD tv can only do 1:1 pixel at 66Hz, and I do like 1:1 pixel for viewing pictures, as well as not having any overscan. Can anyone suggest a good way of using this plugin for this purpose? I did use it earlier, but then it triggered powerstrip from command-line, and it wasnt a stable solution.

    -k
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!