[Help Us!] - RTSP streaming library update | Page 6

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by mm1352000, October 25, 2015.

  1. Charlie TV
    • Premium Supporter

    Charlie TV MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 22, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +29 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi

    I ran it and all has been well. Just now I got an error message about out of space when changing channel on the client. I waited and then tried again and it appeared to work. I grabbed logs as attached.

    Cheers


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Ratings:
    +8,175 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    You're right - no sign of errors there. Interestingly there are also no signs that the TsReader change is having any effect. I would have known by the presence of certain log entries... but those tell-tale entries are completely absent.

    Previously I had thought that the duration of the streaming - which ties in with the too-complex-to-fully-explain "PCR roll-over" mentioned in my previous reply - was the sole determinant of what you were seeing. Comparing the duration of this test with the previous test, we have:
    [2016-01-10 10:20:43,732] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - TVHome.ViewChannelAndCheck(): View channel=BBC ONE HD
    ...
    [2016-01-11 04:23:55,015] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - VMR9Helper: Playing -> Repainting, Frames 0

    [2016-01-12 20:28:01,235] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - TVHome.ViewChannelAndCheck(): View channel=BBC TWO HD
    ...
    [2016-01-13 17:41:34,746] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - TVHome.ViewChannelAndCheck(): View channel=BBC ONE HD

    ...so ~18 hours vs. ~21 hours. If my previous theory was correct then a longer test should have run into the same issue as the previous test and either passed (due to the TsReader change) or failed with the same symptoms... but to have no issues and no effect from my change makes no sense.


    Considering the technicalities of PCR roll-overs...

    A [hopefully!] simple way to understand what I'm talking about is to imagine that there are 2 timers associated with the stream. These timers are used as references for decoding and syncing the video, audio, subtitles etc. correctly. Each timer counts from 0 to ((2^33) - 1) [let's call it PCR-max for ease of explanation], and then rolls-over and starts at 0 again. Timer 1 is the broadcaster's timer. It could be anywhere between 0 and PCR-max when you start streaming. Timer 2 is TV Server's timer. It always starts at 0 when you start streaming. These timers [should!] count up at a consistent rate, such that it takes approximately 26.5 hours to get back to where they started from (ie. if a timer starts at 0, it will take 26.5 hours before it gets back to 0).

    In the previous log files the issue seemed to start when the broadcaster's clock rolled over... though I was unable to be certain of that due to the limited history in the TsWriter log.

    In these log files I can confirm that the broadcaster clock rolled over:
    [2016-01-12 20:28:31,592] [743d818] [157c] - Recorder: TIMESHIFT Info : Next broadcaster program clock reference rollover : 0 days 17:00:00 0

    ...and like clockwork, 17 hours later:
    [2016-01-13 13:28:33,074] [743d818] [157c] - Recorder: TIMESHIFT Info : Normal broadcaster program clock reference rollover passed !
    [2016-01-13 13:28:33,074] [743d818] [157c] - Recorder: TIMESHIFT Info : Normal broadcaster program clock reference rollover passed !

    As you've said there were no apparent problems. This essentially destroys my previous theory.

    It's unfortunate that the latest test didn't quite get to the 26.5 hour mark when the TV Server clock would have been expected to roll over. That would have been interesting to see/test. However, 21 hours with a broadcaster PCR roll-over should have been enough to trigger the problem.
     
    Last edited: January 26, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Ratings:
    +8,175 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. 1gkar
    • Premium Supporter

    1gkar MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 1, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Just updated client system to W10 & installed latest version of MP (1.13).

    Constant 'unable to stream' error boxes. Upon updating respective server/client files as described, the system works perfectly.

    All functions of both LiveTV & recordedTV playback are as good as can be expected (1-3 sec). LiveTV takes about 5 seconds to load. Channel changes are very good (3 sec). FF &rew (both Live & recorded TV) are also good, with a minimal slowdown (1 sec), whilst audio syncs. Also, checked server recording TV: fine.

    Don't know if this is relevant, but I use version 0.7.26.0 of mediaindo.dll as all later versions are too slow to load videos across my wireless (TP-Link Archer C5) network.

    A big thanks to all who have participated in this update: I can lie back & watch from the comfort of my bed:)
     
    Last edited: March 1, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Ratings:
    +8,175 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks for the feedback. :)
    If you could, sometime this evening (or ASAP) could you please export your log files (Watchdog option 3). I'd just like to see if I can figure out what the cause of the "unable to stream" was. No problem if you can't. Just thought it might be interesting/useful... :)
     
  7. 1gkar
    • Premium Supporter

    1gkar MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 1, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I had already compiled logs with both TSReader.ax usage. Just in case.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Ratings:
    +8,175 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks. Looks like it was some kind of server side error...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. 1gkar
    • Premium Supporter

    1gkar MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 1, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Hope the logs can assist for future builds. You guys do so much for everyone in the Mediaportal community. (y)(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    2,769
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,051 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I've now ported the duration measuring and file seeking code from TsReader into the StreamingServer code in this branch - https://github.com/MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1/tree/EXP-Upgrade_555_MM_Owlsroost (and modified the PCR processing code in 'TsMPEG2TransportStreamFramer.cpp' a little). See https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...tv-playback-rate-matching-for-testing.130394/ for the latest test binaries.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. 1gkar
    • Premium Supporter

    1gkar MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 1, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Just a quick note to inform the devs I have upgraded my main HTPC to W10 with none of the above issues. It appears to work out of the box.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!