SAF v4.00 ''stable'' (StandAlone Filters) - DXVA ready (H.264 and VC-1). | Page 231

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by hoborg, September 2, 2008.

?

Should i integrate FFDshow in to SAF?

  1. Yes

    406 vote(s)
    85.5%
  2. No

    69 vote(s)
    14.5%
  1. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    hoborg - how do you feel about FFDShow audio codecs compared to using what's in SAF (MPA + Monogram AAC)?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    I newer have problem with MPA audio decoder, but i only have analog stereo speakers...
     
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Just wondering what the advantage of using MPA/Monogram AAC over FFDShow, FFDshow can do both, has more options for mixing channels and it correctly handles multichannel AAC which is becoming more common. I guess those 2 codecs are smaller and simplier to setup. Also the FFDShow audio codec comes with FFDSHOW video codec (which is very annoying) you have to disable it so it doesn't try to load. And the wierd thing also is for some movies i get jerking video frames with SPDIF via either codec, however if I use AC3Filter post processing then it solves the jerky video frames. This problem not present if using analog 2 channel audio output. Lots of users have posted about the jerky/stuttering video frames with SPDIF audio that resolves with ac3filter.
     
  5. sjeffrey

    sjeffrey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I use SPDIF and always unregister MPA audio decoder and install AC3Filter instead.
     
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
  7. sjeffrey

    sjeffrey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 22, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    So far I haven't had anything in AAC, but I think it just falls back to Monogram AAC
     
  8. wouter1971
    • Premium Supporter

    wouter1971 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    106
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Purmerend, Holland
    Ratings:
    +143 / 6
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Renaming is not working for me, it will not play, same error message again.
     
  9. wouter1971
    • Premium Supporter

    wouter1971 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    106
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Purmerend, Holland
    Ratings:
    +143 / 6
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    @Hoborg:
    The solution: Install ffdshow deselect all associations with filetypes and after installation select in de Video configuation application under codecs mjpeg to libavcodec and also in vfw configuration application under decoder "mjpeg in avi" to libavcodec.
    Now all can be played in mediaportal fullscreen.
     
  10. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Guys, i am thinking to integrate FFDshow in to SAF. The reasons are:
    - more video format support (like MJPG, etc...)
    - replace MPA by ffdshow audio decoder (possibly fix reported pass-thrugh problems) - not sure
    - post processing +video resize for all non DXVA material

    No DXVA will be lost, all previous functions will be keept.
    This combination should create ultimate audio/video solution...

    Please vote in pool!


    EDIT:
    How it should work:
    H.264,VC-1 will be decoded by MPC-HC (PDVD9 for HDTV) - current SAF status
    MPEG2 will be decoded by PDVD9 - current SAF status
    DIVX/XVID is now decoded by MPC-HC/XVID decoder, will be replaced by FFDSHOW
    +tons of new video formats that FFDshow support (include MJPEG)
     
  11. carmenm

    carmenm Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 15, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    I am not sure this is a really good idea.
    THe first thing is you say that DXVA wont be lost, but FFDSHOW is CPU not GPU, or i am really missing something.

    Now about performances, i had just an example yesterday. Right now i have SAF and FFDSHOW. I still have both because i do a lot of testing (on win7) because i am still not sure of the best way to play 1080p under win7(still quite slow with a GA-E7AUM-DS2H...). Yesterday a 720p started with ffdshow and i knew it immediately as it was stuttering.
    After going back to MPC, it was good!

    You also says you want to go to ffdshow audio. I would say this is a really bad idea for people using spdif. For months i had problems with dropped frames every 1,5s. And it was due to ffdshow audio.
    To my opinion the best solution would be mpa with ac3filter.

    Of course all of that is only my opinion.

    Maybe the solution would be include every solution in SAF and let the user choose during the installation. WHat do you think?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!