SAF v4.00 ''stable'' (StandAlone Filters) - DXVA ready (H.264 and VC-1). | Page 250

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by hoborg, September 2, 2008.

?

Should i integrate FFDshow in to SAF?

  1. Yes

    406 vote(s)
    85.5%
  2. No

    69 vote(s)
    14.5%
  1. mediortal

    mediortal Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    hmm that's strange, I installed also on another pc and setup MP+saf same way, and I get exact same error on same files.
    And it also has ati card+cat9.8.


    They work fine in MPC-HC with same decoders + dvxa, I thought if it works in MPC-HC it should work with MP+SAF setup?


    What does that error mean anyway, what would be causing it?

     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    For the begin, please send SAF + MP logs.
    You can try to play them in GB-PVR too
     
  4. WhyMe

    WhyMe Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 26, 2008
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Développeur .Net
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Hello,
    first excuse me for my poor english, i'm french ;)
    i have an ATI HD3870 and catalyst 9.3
    i've just registered clvasd.ax after dl last powerdvd trial version to test dxva on MPEG2.
    bob deintrelacing with the gpu works ( gpu goes from 5% to 10% )
    but i don't know if mpeg2 decoding use my gpu or my cpu.
    explication : when i decode h264 with dxva, my card change his frequencies to uvd mode.
    with this MPEG2 test, my card run frequencies from 2D mode in windowed and from 3D mode in MP Fullscreen.
    is this normal that MPEG2 decoding not run frequencies in uvd mode ?

    thanks for your answers.
     
  5. publicENEMY

    publicENEMY Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 19, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi hoborg. Great piece of stuff you got there. now i finally can use dxva for my hd movie collection.

    By the way, did you know how can i have dxva with vc1(probably interlaced) with my nvidia graphics card(9600gt)? i have a ripped blue ray movie in m2ts encoded with vc1.

    thanks.
     
  6. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    ...and you are not able to play them?
     
  7. DAx_dk

    DAx_dk Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 25, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    uhmm, don't really know what's your problem is. Can you try to explain it in different way. Have no idea what you mean by "frequencies" in this context.

    DAx
     
  8. WhyMe

    WhyMe Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 26, 2008
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Développeur .Net
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    I'm talking about gpu and memory frequencies

    There a some frequencies modes on video cards : boot mode, 2d mode, 3d mode and uvd mode.

    With h264 and dxva, card switch in uvd mode
    With MPEG2 and dxva, card not switch in uvd mode so i don't know if MPEG2 is really decoded by gpu
     
  9. DAx_dk

    DAx_dk Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 25, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    ahh okay, now I got it :)

    well you could try to disable MPC-HC DXVA. If you installed one of the later betas, there should be shortcut in your start menu under SAF.

    Then monitor both your CPU and GPU.

    Just a suggestion.

    DAx
     
  10. disaster123
    • Premium Supporter

    disaster123 MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,546
    Likes Received:
    417
    Ratings:
    +431 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Under windows 7 - it does not use FFDSHOW for XVID... in graphstudio there is always a Codec called: "Mpeg4s Decoder DMO"
     
  11. WhyMe

    WhyMe Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 26, 2008
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Développeur .Net
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    I think i found the problem :
    i've downloaded a .ts MPEG2 HD sample, and with it my card switch in uvd mode, so DXVA is running correctly !
    in MP fullscreen, same thing, card is running in uvd mode.
    but with a .ts from MP timeshifting, card not switch to uvd mode.

    the difference between the files is mpeg2 profil : Main@High for MPEG2 HD sample and Main@Main for timeshifting file.
    i know profil is important in h264 files for dxva, i think it's the same thing fore mpeg2.

    now, how put this @high profil in files created by timeshifting to get mpeg2 dxva support in the TV module ???

    with full dxva support on my MP client, the card will run 90% of time in uvd mode ( so low frequencies, low voltage, low t°, low noise ) and 10% of time in 3D mode only when i launch a game !
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!