[fixed] - Scheduled Recordings Did not record | Page 5

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by fdm225, February 28, 2010.

  1. arion_p
    • Team MediaPortal

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    There are reasons Server 2003 is not supported and one of them (that is possibly related to your problem) is the DVB bug that exists in both WinXP and Server 2003. Microsoft has published a fix for XP MCE (which essentially is XP with the additional MCE app installed) but NOT for Server 2003. Since XP and Server 2003 are quite different (there are significant differences in both API and the Kernel) this fix is not appropriate for Server 2003 even if it seems to be working (and your issue may actually be a result of this as the fix is related to tuning). And since we cannot know in advance if it is an OS issue or a TVServer issue, it is a pure waste of (our limited) time to try to figure out what is wrong, only to end up discovering it is the OS at fault.

    Sorry if I sound a bit harsh, but to me a non-server OS that has a working TV subsystem is far more suitable for running TVServer than a server OS that has issues with TV.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. vvulture
    • Premium Supporter

    vvulture MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 3, 2006
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronic Security Technician
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    You are correct that MP will not run reliably on WHS ( if you can get it to work ), so instead of just outright not supporting it, how about just supporting the TV-Server side of things and meeting us halfway ? Tv-Server runs fine on WHS as long as it runs fine on Win XP, Vista or 7 .. there is no denying that.. All that would be missing is channel preview which in reality is not needed. You can do that from a "supported" client.

    You can "win" on this one if you make it clear that ONLY TV-Server is supported and not MP. Why would you want to run MP on a ( headless server ) anyway ?

    But never mind... lets get back on track. This issue has been discussed many times before to no avail...


    cheers

    The DVB bug you are refering to has never caused me any grief since replacing it with a WinXP version. Besides, it is only applicable with Hauppauge Nova-T 500 cards and caused BSOD's.
    I also have 2 Avermedia TwinStar cards ( PCI-E ) which suffer from the same issues. Apart from all this, why do you say that server 2003 or WHS have issues with TV ? How do you come to this conclusion when it has never been officially tried and tested with MP and basically ignored all this time ? Kinda ignorant to say this when there are other media centre solutions that are doing it successfully ( Sage-TV for example have a TVServer WHS plugin).. Before you ask, i choose to use MP because i prefer it for reasons which are irrelevant here.


    Cheers
     
  4. fdm225
    • Premium Supporter

    fdm225 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hi,
    Not to start a flame war but can we get back on to the topic of the thread? I see this issue very often on Windows 7 64 bit and would like to work towards it's resolution. I have provided logs and will continue to provide any information that I can. if there is something else I can do to help get this resolved I will surely do so because I want to be able to run MP 1.1 when it releases.

    Please please please let me know what I can do to help out with this issue!

    Dave
     
  5. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    [Fixed]???? Re: Scheduled Recordings Did not record

    Hi all,

    I have the exact same problem where some of the recorded series would not install.
    I found that uninstalling Mp and also MySQL completely and deleting traces and then reinstalling fixed the problem

    I think the problem started when I imported the schedules from 1.1 Beta
     
  6. fdm225
    • Premium Supporter

    fdm225 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Re: [Fixed]???? Re: Scheduled Recordings Did not record

    Hi,
    thanks for the reply but I started from scratch. no mysql or MP on the system.

    Dave
     
  7. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Did you import old schedules?
     
  8. fdm225
    • Premium Supporter

    fdm225 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    No, all entered new after install. this was completely clean.


    Dave
     
  9. argypak

    argypak Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 21, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berwick
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Also check that you have not ticked the box in the server to not record duplicate shows
    I don't know but it might be interfering
     
  10. fdm225
    • Premium Supporter

    fdm225 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America

    Hi,
    thanks for the response but it is not checked. the logs of this show issue that when MP finds one of the streams (the audio stream I believe) and then goes to tune the other (video stream) it fails to find it and aborts. The issue then gets really weird, the tuner is now in a bad state where it will not tune the channel scheduled to be recorded at all (I actually have to tune to another channel and then back again and the channel works!). I feel there is a bug here but do know have the knowledge to debug it further. If there are any additional logs that I can collect or anyway I can help debug this issue I am willing to do it, please let me know how I can help!

    thanks for the response again!
    Dave
     
  11. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    It seems this problem is very difficult to investigate. I would advise retesting in the upcoming RC2 since a lot has been fixed in recording scheduling and other parts. If it still occurs there please file a new bugreport.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!