Scythe42's fixes for 1.4.0 | Page 44

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by elliottmc, April 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    i been waiting :)[DOUBLEPOST=1367343107][/DOUBLEPOST]tested first one and its still the same logs attached.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. radical

    radical Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +219 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I can confirm for MP 1.3 that, disabling the flickering help a lot against MP losing focus.

    Here my is my short testing with Client only Installation connected to 1.3 Final TV-Server.

    My 2 display Setup

    Screen 1:LCD-TV
    Resolution: 1920x1080
    Connection: HDMI
    Position: Left
    Primary: No
    MP-Start: Yes
    Taskbar: No

    Screen 2: LCD-Monitor
    Resolution: 1920x1200
    Connection: DVI-D
    Position: Right
    Primary: Yes
    MP-Start: No
    Takbar: Yes

    With latest build from first post I don't have any Problem with MP on secondary Screen. Resolution is Fitting.

    Live and recorded tv is working good. It has automatically switched to 50hz. No dropped Frames at all.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Scythe42
    • Premium Supporter

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Can reproduce now.

    Centarea takes HID input (regardless from which device, e.g. the keyboard) and execute the action. It could already have been executed before. Don't really get it. This makes absolutely no sense.

    If HID message are triggered by a remote, there is no need for any special remote support at all. You are basically trying to remap all HID input. And this happens as soon as it is activated. Even with a keyboard as it reacts to all Windows messages.

    MP processes the HID message, Centarea Plugin processes it again. That makes no sense code wise. If a remote sends HID codes, the plugin should do nothing with it and let MP process it like any other HID code.

    This is just so screwed up code and makes no sense to me.

    I actually need to find a way to have MP not process certain messages when Centarea Plugin is activated. What a mess. Try and error for me.

    That it worked on 1.3.0 is pure coincidence. Probably Centarea plugin was called before MP had a change to process the message. And now stuff is faster it does not anymore. It should have never worked properly before... The whole implementation requires buggy message handling on the MP side.
     
    Last edited: April 30, 2013
    • Like Like x 3
  5. Scythe42
    • Premium Supporter

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Yeah, WndProc() of InputDevices is broken and relies on something you should never do.

    There is an msg.Result for a reason that you can set if your message was already processed, so that no other WndProc gets it. This is not properly set. Instead there are some arbitrary booleans, resets of msg.Result values, returns etc.

    I broke WndProc() again for the sake of catching the train. Will change and refactor to proper WndProc() handling for 1.5.0. Can re-introduce issues I thought I fixed though, but all these can be triggered on 1.3.0 as well.

    This change by me is there since the first Area 51 build *sigh*. But good that we caught it. Probably other stuff even relies on it as well.

    Please test if this fixes it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MediaPortal.7z
      File size:
      340.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 30, 2013
      Views:
      115
    Last edited: April 30, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  6. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,512
    Likes Received:
    2,564
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,248 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Build 29/04/2013 Tested on an old Laptop with Win7 ( only if MP start) , Mp start without problem
    with Radeon 9700 mobility & P4 3.2
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: April 30, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  8. Scythe42
    • Premium Supporter

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Cool... Will format the code changes I do a commit to GIT within the hour.
     
    Last edited: April 30, 2013
    • Like Like x 8
  9. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    6,223
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,235 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I can confirm fixed on my side too :)
     
    • Like Like x 4
  10. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    fingers crossed this makes the cut off, so much work gone into this and many many fixes. Let me be the first to congratulate all involved :whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    OK,

    Ran the latest build. Did some testing and I couldnt see major issues :) Fast as hell and very responsive btw.
     
    Last edited: April 30, 2013
    • Like Like x 4
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!