StreamedMP Patches | Page 7

Discussion in 'StreamedMP' started by ltfearme, June 7, 2010.

  1. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,385
    Likes Received:
    4,165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,278 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Andreas26/thirdoff, these errors have nothing to do with StreamedMP but WorldWeather plugin instead. I suggest you check the configuration of WorldWeather and make sure everything is right. Also please report in WorldWeather thread.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. thirdoff

    thirdoff Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 22, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    This started with the streammp update. I had never seen it and now we see it about 10-20 times a day. it started 5 minutes after the update. I have never installed a weather plugin, is it included? I do also see a zipcode error in the weather plugin you mention. They are related as at the very least the update was a trigger.

    I disabled worldweather, we'll see if it goes away. Thank you.

    I think the update changed a configuration file registered with the firewall. I think this because I had to "re-allow" access for Media Configuration in the firewall. The plugin is being blocked by the firewall. The streammp update caused this change.
     
  4. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,385
    Likes Received:
    4,165
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,278 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    We dont change any firewall settings...and yes StreamedMP does install WorldWeather plugin but only if you originally selected it as part of setup (which you obviously did).

    The patch would of updated your WorldWeather plugin from your previous installation (only update and not install). Maybe something in WorldWeather plugin now tries to get something that is blocked by your firewall and doesnt handle it gracefully (I dont know).
     
  5. thirdoff

    thirdoff Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 22, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Denial does not fix problems. I have reinstalled and recreated the issue and YES it is the MP configuration and firewall related. Deny if you want but SOMEHOW (magically if not by your process) the update is causing the media portal configuration to need access. This is a recreate-able issue and can be fixed by simply launching the mediaportal config and allowing it access. Common install did not select weather, your plug in does install/update that plug in and that is what caused the issue. So people with the issue after the update of the skin will want this fix until the cause is resolved. Thank you for your great dev work. I like the layout a lot.
     
  6. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,451
    Likes Received:
    2,610
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,709 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    First of all: i did a clean install on 1 system, updated skin (did it twice)-> no issues.
    I updated my HTPC -> No issues.

    2nd: (And i'll try to be nice...) If you think that you're gonna get support with that tone, without system specs and without logs.... Good luck! :mad:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. thirdoff

    thirdoff Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 22, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Just recreated the issue again to be sure, so (and I usually don't care if I'm nice) I am not looking for support on this issue. I fixed my issues AND found the cause (streammp update). I am just trying to help the next person. The issue is NEVER helped by "NOT ME" or "NOT MY PLUG IN" especially when indirectly it was that reason. Every issue is caused by someone and it does not mean anything negative
    People that have this issue can fix it by setting the firewall or disabling the worldweather. Which was affected by the streamMP update in 1-2012. And when you did the install, either your setup is different or you changed a setting and did not do default (no changes). You're welcome. The configuration file is blocked for some reason after the streammp update. VERIFIED.

    That you for your help devs, no tone intended. the only tone I hear is "we didn't do it, we COULDN'T have done it" which helps NO ONE.

    Specs are not needed to share this type of solution.

    I post perfectly when I ask for real help (check), but thank you for your advice. :-\

    Have a great day, I am!
     
  8. mhoogenbosch
    • Premium Supporter

    mhoogenbosch MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultancy
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +70 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Yesterday Ive reinstalled my machine and put on the latest StreamedMP install. I also received the mentioned error. I've deleted Word Weather and now i'm not getting the error anymore. I did enable worldweather through the installation of StreamedMP so that would be the cause.

    What exactly do you have to adjust to the firewall?! because I haven't gotten any messages.
     
  9. Brett Coster

    Brett Coster Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 25, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I have to agree with the above posts. I applied the most recent (NOV) skin update, with no other changes, and my TV service stopped working. Various other posts directed me to change server ports, but without success. After reading this post, i disabled World Weather and everything works perefectly. World weather does not play nice with Streamed MP. Any advice for which weather service works on this skin? Direct me to another post rather than derail this one.

    thanks
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!