StreamedMP Patches | Page 5

Discussion in 'StreamedMP' started by ltfearme, June 7, 2010.

  1. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,913
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,222 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Is there a chance to download the patched XMLs manually? e.g. from google page.
    Thanks for your great work! =)


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,426
    Likes Received:
    4,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,332 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ScRePt

    ScRePt Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Sorry for digging this up, but is there any progress in the de-elevated execution after an upgrade? My iMon remote, in keyboard mode, does not work under elevated MP. (Plus, I've noticed from other programs that when run elevated and then de-elevated they mess around their local storages ... not sure why)

    I've done the de-elevation execution before myself via executables (not sure if it can be done via a dll). I would be more than happy to assist on this.
     
  5. ScRePt

    ScRePt Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    I can see the issue I reported already existed under # 353 on issue tracker.

    I've found some time this weekend to give it a try. Test it and let me know.

    Technical info for the reviewers of the patch:
    The de-elevation problem goes as this:

    Not
    elevated Elevated Elevated again
    ------- ------------- ---------------------
    - MP - ---> - SMPatch - -----> - MP after restart -
    ------- ------------- ---------------------

    Since there is no way of de-elevating a process, as long as SMPatch gets to restart MP, the MP process will always be elevated.
    Since MP needs to be shut down before the patch runs and also the patch needs to be elevated, what I did was to insert a new process (not elevated) in the game (actually reused SMPMediaPortalRestart). The new process runs the patch (which gets elevated) and then runs MP (which is not elevated)

    Not Not
    elevated elevated Elevated
    ------- ---------------------------- -------------
    - MP - ---> - SMMediaPortalRestart - ---> - SMPatch -
    ------- ---------------------------- --------------

    Not
    Elevated
    ----------------------
    ---> - MP after restart -
    -----------------------

    I reused the existing procject because I did not want to create another exe for u guys to distribute. As a result, SMPMediaPortalRestart project now does 2 things: 1. Upgrades MP and 2. Restarts MP. Those 2 can be issued together ofcourse. I had to change the command line parameters' rules to introduce the new functionality

    During testing, please don't debug from an elevated VS process as you wont see any difference.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  6. trevor

    trevor Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    922
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +951 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Show Spoiler



    Thanks ScRePt, will apply this to our current builds and test - We have just released a patch so will be in the next.

    Much appreciated

    Cheers
     
  7. msj33
    • Premium Supporter

    msj33 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 30, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ratings:
    +69 / 3
    Home Country:
    England England
    Re: Streamed MP v1.4.10 Stable [02 Jan 2011] [Supports MP 1.1.x\1.2 Alpha]

    Thanks for hotfix on Infoservice plugin - But the last couple of times I have had some issues when Updates have been released.

    -I do not get a pop-up with New update available, I only get the notification in upper left corner.
    -When an update is pending, Live TV seems to have periodic stuttering or lag in rendering. After Update everything runs fine again.
    -Download of the update seems sometimes too be quite slow ~20 KB/sek on my 25/1 Mbit line.

    Am I the only one experiencing these thing? Have not included logs, since I have already updated - but will keep notice next time update is available.

    -Feature request - Is it possible to do the downloading in the background - why have to wait? :)

    /Morten
     
  8. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,426
    Likes Received:
    4,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,332 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Re: Streamed MP v1.4.10 Stable [02 Jan 2011] [Supports MP 1.1.x\1.2 Alpha]

    Usually only shows for a couple seconds on BasicHome after startup/resume from standby. If you restart do you see it?

    Will investigate and get back to you. Please provide logs of that time period if they are handy.

    Bad timing I guess, sometimes its fast and sometimes its slow.

    We had talked about this a while back but never got around to adding it yet...sometime down the line we will for sure ;)
     
  9. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    The first update I got this way worked great. However this currently update doesn't seem to be applying. It downloads to 100% and says its installing but it just sits there and never finishes. To carry on using MP eventually I have to cancel the update. I can then use MP and upon restarting its saying the update is still required..

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Cheers
    Batfink
     
  10. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,426
    Likes Received:
    4,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,332 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Not sure TheBatfink, can you try downloading and installing the patch manually: SMPpatch-r2620.exe
     
  11. trevor

    trevor Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    922
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +951 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi TheBatfink,

    The obly reason this would happen is if MediaPortal has not fully shutdown, though it should time out 2mins.

    As Damien says best to try a manual update and see if there are any problems.

    thx
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!