MP2 - Spring'16 - Unable to install due to DirectX problem

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by GlamRockCowboy, June 6, 2016.

  1. GlamRockCowboy

    GlamRockCowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Fairview, TN (ca. 20 mi. SSW of Nashville)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    After my old hard drive failed, I bought a new 2TB HD and re-installed everything from the ground up. When I downloaded and TRIED to install the Spring '16 version of MP 2, however, the system repeatedly balked at having to install DirectX 9 (I'm running Windows 10 Home.). I've attached the log file in zip format. HELP!!


     

    Attached Files:

    • MP2-Setup.zip
      File size:
      2.3 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 6, 2016
      Views:
      129
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    In some cases the automated DX9 install fails, especially if you try to install on a remote system.

    Please download the full DX9 package and install it manually. A quick Google sarch should give you the rspective Microsoft link. Watch out that you pick the correct version:

    Full installer
    Version:9.29.1974
    File Name:directx_Jun2010_redist.exe
    Date Published: 4/18/2011
    File Size:95.6 MB
     
  4. GlamRockCowboy

    GlamRockCowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Fairview, TN (ca. 20 mi. SSW of Nashville)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I did what you suggested, but the installation failed due to "an internal system error." Where should I look for the log files?
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The log file to look for is DXError.log in your Windows folder and post the error message here.

    There can be different reason for DX9 not installing. For exaxmple some Windows file could be corrupted. You can check this by opening an administrative comand window (CMD) where you enter sfc /scannow. This will verify the integrity of your system files and repair them if possible. Restart the PC and try again.

    Google throws numerous hits with various solutions that describe the same problem. The error messages might tell us more.
     
  6. GlamRockCowboy

    GlamRockCowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Fairview, TN (ca. 20 mi. SSW of Nashville)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    DirectX generated two text files, so I'm uploading both of them.
     

    Attached Files:

    • DXError.zip
      File size:
      1.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 6, 2016
      Views:
      110
    • DirectX.zip
      File size:
      13.7 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 6, 2016
      Views:
      106
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Here is the problem:
    So it appears that DX9 is already installed but the installation may be corrupt.

    Not sure what is behind this. Let me think about it - I'll get back to you.
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Not sure why the process cannot delete the files and which other process is using it. Now rather than running advanced diagnosis on it, you might just start from scratch again:

    Are you able to do a restore and return to your first attempt of installing MP2? If yes, please do so and then try the manual install of DirectX 9 first before launchiong the MP2 installer.
     
  9. GlamRockCowboy

    GlamRockCowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Fairview, TN (ca. 20 mi. SSW of Nashville)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    No such luck. Windows 10 still insists that I must be running Windows 98 or something similar in order to install DirectX 9. Any other suggestions?
     
  10. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,745
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  11. GlamRockCowboy

    GlamRockCowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Fairview, TN (ca. 20 mi. SSW of Nashville)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    That link is to the June 2010 SDK. It's asking me where I want the runtimes to be installed. Is this correct? If so, what should my response be?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!