Aeon Menu Generator | Page 15

Discussion in 'Aeon' started by jburnette, July 7, 2008.

  1. robyf
    • Team MediaPortal

    robyf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    139
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Bolzano
    Ratings:
    +141 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    First generate a menu basichome.xml (or whatever) with a voice named for instance hdplayer and linked to myvideo.

    Launch Mediaportal Setup, go to the plugin section and configure hd starter. Inside you will find the ID to link to. Then go to basichome.xml. If your menu voice is named for instance hdplayer you fill find varius sections like hdplayer0, hdplayer1 and so on. Inside some of this section there is the hyperlink tag. Substitute what's inside this tag with the ID you found in the hd starter configuration window and all should work (at least it works for me).


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sambal

    Sambal Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    144
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    On my setup it uses the default weather icons provided by MediaPortal which are 128x128. If you are using this skin with a resolution of 1366x768 or higher it should look fine with the 128x128 images. If your images are bigger or if you are using this skin with a lower resolution either change the images or add the dimensions to the image definition in the skin file. Find the image with texture #weatherimg and add <width>128</width><height>128</height>. If you specify the image dimensions MP will scale them for you.
     
  4. Sillycrap101

    Sillycrap101 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 28, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I've used the tool to simply add:

    TVSeries
    MyVideos
    MyWeather (Didn't want to add a 3rd but had to)

    My question is why whenever I move the mouse on the screen does the background go blank (gray)???
    As soon as I move left or right on the keyboard/remote the background picture comes back.

    Also sometimes it will get into a flashing fit and the whole mediaportal display will flash wildly.

    Thanks
     
  5. Johan

    Johan Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I suspected this. I made a quick look in the xml and noticed that there were no image dimensions.
    I will try the size tags and hopefully it will work. Since most things are scaling to correct aspect ratio I guess this also should do.

    I also assume it is in the <description>Weather image</description> section?

    Could the size tag possibly be added to the menu generator without giving problems for people with the correct screen resolution?
     
  6. Sambal

    Sambal Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    144
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Unfortunately this is a side effect of the way the menu is set up. I haven't found a way to fix this (yet).

    @Johan
    I don't know why the dimensions didn't get in there in the first place. I'll get them into the menu generator with the next release.
     
  7. Johan

    Johan Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Very nice, because with size tags it now works perfect. :)
     
  8. Darre

    Darre Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 21, 2007
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ratings:
    +80 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    I have 2 fixes, one that works and one that works partially:

    1) If you change the default background, you will get your favorite fanart instead of a dull grey image(that was the partiall fix)

    2) DONT USE A MOUSE :) MP is meant to be browsed on a HTPC, with a remote. Some people even use this program as a substitute for winamp on their PC, but it is not made for that, and things will be more buggy/less convenient.
     
  9. Avigrace

    Avigrace Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 13, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Domain Administrator
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    I have a custom basichome screen with this generator, very nifty tool!

    However, whenever I goto the basic home screen there is a blank spot on the very left of the menu, I have to scroll left or right once for the menu items to fit in place fully.

    Does everyone get this or is it just me?
     
  10. Sutekh

    Sutekh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Thanks so much, that worked a treat!!!
     
  11. JockeGbg
    • Premium Supporter

    JockeGbg MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 28, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I can't generate the menu, I'm only getting a error message.

    I think it is because the path to my Aeon-folder is different than the menu editor want it to be???

    My installation path is NOT C:\Program Files\Team Mediaportal\MediaPortal\skin\Aeon wide

    How can I make the program generate a file into my installation folder?



    [EDIT] Problem solved! I had to run the program "as administrator" in Vista! :oops:
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!