Can I turn on and off the live recording of television? (1 Viewer)

DJA

April 24, 2012
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I am new to MediaPortal. Is it possible to turn on and off at will the live recording (DVR like functioning) of television channels – either individually or grouped?

hairlesshobo

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • March 18, 2012
    Jacksonville, FL
    Home Country
    The only way that I am aware of would be to remove the schedules that you have setup, but I assume this is not what you are looking for.. is it?

DJA

April 24, 2012
    Home Country
    No, my scheduled recordings are not the problem.

Live recording or "Timeshifting" (as I believe it is referred to as on MediaPortal) is the problem. By "live recording or timeshifting" I mean that feature which allows for pausing, and replay of live television. This is a wonderful feature for viewing live television; however, it is a nightmare for those of us that distribute video on a cable channel system. Modulators are used to place a video signal over an unoccupied cable channel – which can then be distributed throughout a facility or home. Low-resolution modulators cost a few hundred dollars. High-resolution modulators cost upwards of $1500, and thus are used primarily in commercial facilities. The purpose is to distribute video and audio to multiple locations within a facility or home simultaneously. Timeshifting defeats the purpose as it does not allow for simultaneous viewing.

MediaPortal is a great solution for receiving and allowing selection of multiple video sources. I'm told that Hauppauge's Win7 allows for toggling on and off timeshifting (live Recording); however that defeats the purpose of having a comprehensive media center.

Does anyone know how to accomplish turning on and off the "timeshifting" feature on MediaPortal?

Users who are viewing this thread

Similar threads

MP1 MP2 Odd Standby issue DE