Can I turn on and off the live recording of television?

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by DJA, April 28, 2012.

1. DJA

DJA New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I am new to MediaPortal. Is it possible to turn on and off at will the live recording (DVR like functioning) of television channels – either individually or grouped?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. hairlesshobo
    • Premium Supporter

hairlesshobo MP Donator

Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    The only way that I am aware of would be to remove the schedules that you have setup, but I assume this is not what you are looking for.. is it?

4. DJA

DJA New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    No, my scheduled recordings are not the problem.

Live recording or "Timeshifting" (as I believe it is referred to as on MediaPortal) is the problem. By "live recording or timeshifting" I mean that feature which allows for pausing, and replay of live television. This is a wonderful feature for viewing live television; however, it is a nightmare for those of us that distribute video on a cable channel system. Modulators are used to place a video signal over an unoccupied cable channel – which can then be distributed throughout a facility or home. Low-resolution modulators cost a few hundred dollars. High-resolution modulators cost upwards of $1500, and thus are used primarily in commercial facilities. The purpose is to distribute video and audio to multiple locations within a facility or home simultaneously. Timeshifting defeats the purpose as it does not allow for simultaneous viewing.

MediaPortal is a great solution for receiving and allowing selection of multiple video sources. I'm told that Hauppauge's Win7 allows for toggling on and off timeshifting (live Recording); however that defeats the purpose of having a comprehensive media center.