Difference between Mediaportal 1 and 2 (1 Viewer)

jensbchr

August 5, 2015
Home Country
Denmark Denmark
Hi,

I am new to Mediaportal.
What is the difference between Mediaportal version 1 and 2?
When will Mediaportal 2 become a officially released version and not a beta?

BR

Jensbchr

The_Stig

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 5, 2005
    Hi Jensbchr,

and welcome!

Have a look here : https://www.team-mediaportal.com/news/end-of-windows-media-center. There are a few hints and many links for you to read. Shortest available summary: MP1 stable, feature rich, maaaany plugins, but quite old architecture. MP2 no stable/final version yet, modern architecture, blazing fast. There is no ETA when it will be final.

The users here kind of split into two partys: the ones that are convinced that MP1 is currently the best solution that fits all their needs. The others ones who swear MP2 is already a fine piece of software and running in productive systems without any problems.

So its kind of up to you, what is most important for you. My personal opinion as a currently still MP1 user, but I did test MP2:
    • Skins: Advantage MP1 (more Skins)
    • Configuration: Advantage MP2 (everything not TV-related can be configured in GUI)
    • Speed/Reactiveness: Advantage MP2
    • Stability: I cannot judge. MP1 runs rock stable for me, but I didn't test MP2 much enough to judge. In theory MP2 should be better.
    • What is else important?

skorz

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 19, 2011
    Deutschland
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    MP1 has external stream support as for smartphone (ampdroid for android and something for iphone too.) and for webstreaming (webmediaportal). this is my reason to stay with mp1.

thoath

Portal Pro
    June 8, 2012
    Home Country
    Germany Germany