[DIY] Amblight project/guide - Hyperion - WS2801/ WS2812B / APA102 | Page 35

Discussion in '[DIY] User Showcases' started by Rick164, November 23, 2014.

  1. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Ratings:
    +1,629 / 2
    @Gradlock, hopefully the new one will allow you to enjoy the ambient lights again.



    Modern electronics appear to be made with a short expiration date on purpose sometimes, at least that is how it feels sometimes either indirect by making you desire to update to the new model, or direct via failure. I guess they figured out they don't make more money if you can keep using their products forever :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Gradlock

    Gradlock Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    It's all about quantity over quality. :mad:.
     
  4. Gradlock

    Gradlock Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Well, success! I got my new PSU and the lights are behaving normally. Still not very confortable due to the fact that the voltage is supposed to be 5V and the multimeter shows it going up to nearly 8v. At least now I know that an over-voltaged PSU can cause the lights to flicker and strobe. It may have been my fault since I got the wiring wrong the first time I was connecting it but it still output around 5.5v. The jump to nearly 15 happened last week or it may have been deteriorating over time. Got about a year out of it.
     
  5. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Ratings:
    +1,629 / 2
    Not sure if you measured the output with LEDs connected, or disconnected, because a PSU without any load connected tends to show a much higher output.

    Also try measuring the voltage at the very end of the strip, because with all the resistance of 5 meter of LED strip it might barely be 5V, so then the higher voltage is a good thing at the start of the strip and there is usually enough room in the specifications to allow for that. A full detailed spec-sheet would tell you that, or you can just enjoy the results :)
     
  6. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    336
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +554 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Hi :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Downloads.rar
      File size:
      3.7 KB
      Uploaded:
      May 19, 2017
      Views:
      59
  7. MikeXu007

    MikeXu007 New Member

    Joined:
    January 6, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    China China
    I would like to use the 144led/m sk6812 led strip,I think it will be much better effect with high density led and more brightness.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Ratings:
    +1,629 / 2
    @MikeXu007 you can run any density you want, but from personal usage experience, 30 LEDs per meter, amounting to 130 LEDs on my 65" 4K TV (ended up cutting off 20 LEDs from 5m strip) put out a huge amount of light and density and it works well for 4K media.

    It also doesn't get extreme then on power usage and respective wiring requirements.

    I rely on AmbiBox myself to drive my setup so it works on Windows and MPC-BE as well, and it has maximum zone support of 300 LEDs, so I would barely be able to use a little over 2 meter of your density strip. Also preferred to use a sealed notebook alike power adapter so 60 LED/m was out as well due to power requirements.

    Looking forward to your result though, welcome to the Ambient Light TV club :)
     
  9. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hey all. I recently brought new TV so back to hacking up some LEDs, it’s 65” so I need 4.5m strip of lights. I still have the rPi and Arduino which I can recycle from old setup.

    Is rPi / Arduino still the preferred method with Hyperion? What are the best LEDs now, still WS2812B?

    Thanks!
     
  10. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,890
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +3,652 / 12
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I have apa102 led and work perfectly connected on rpi spi pin.
    I prefer 4 wires led than 3, more easy to manage.
    Envoyé de mon P01MA en utilisant Tapatalk
     
  11. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Ratings:
    +1,629 / 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!