Hybrid Card - Unknown channel | Page 2

Discussion in 'pre 1.0 RC1' started by thumer, May 29, 2007.

  1. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I had the problem too and so I looked into the sources myself. I have found several problems and submitted a patch to sourceforge. Hopefully someone of the dev team commit it to svn.

    If you are interested, the patch is located here

    Regards
    MisterD


     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. huma2000

    huma2000 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 1, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student of veterinary, PC tecnichian and some more
    Location:
    Murcia, Spain
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    I hope the patch sill be integrated soon into the svn, I really want to use the hybrid feature, is a great idea.
    Thanks misterd for your work!
     
  4. FluffyLob

    FluffyLob New Member

    Joined:
    August 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Thank you MisterD! I'll give this a test - time to dust off the compiler!

    I'll feedback my results to this thread...

    Chris
     
  5. thumer

    thumer Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Thank you too mysterd. Can anybody post the a compiled library with this fix, if it runs well. I think it will need some time, till the fix is in the svn.
     
  6. FluffyLob

    FluffyLob New Member

    Joined:
    August 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    I just finished compiling MisterD's modifications, and the results for me were a definite improvement, although there does still seem to be some smaller issues (I'm continuing to test)...

    It seems that you must perform the channel scan before grouping the cards, otherwise they will all be assigned to the first tuner. When grouping after scanning, the chnnels are assigned correctly.

    Changing channels between different tuners seems to work well - however I've noticed occasional failures to change to channels on the same tuner after a previous switch from the other tuner, eg DVB-S->DVB-T->DVB-T

    I'll continue testing - Thanks MisterD, this is a definite improvement!

    thumer - I'm not sure if posting a compiled version with modifications is 'good form' here? It's real easy to compile yourself - there's instructions in the wiki and you can get a trial version of Visual Studio from Microsoft's web site...

    Cheers,
    Chris
     
  7. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    It it good to here that it's working for at least another person. I know that this patch isn't perfect. My patch only adds additional checks and conditions in the TVServer to avoid the occuring exceptions. It is very complicated to find all these exceptions in the algorithm.
    IMHO the whole handling of hybrid cards should be changed. The reason is that the TVServer still handles all parts of a hybrid card as a single tv card. This makes the whole handling of the different streams etc. very complicated. I think it would be better when the TVServer handles a hybrid card as a single virtual card and than decides which part of the card has to be used. But this has to be changed in the core of the TVServer and I don't know if there are any side-effects.

    MisterD
     
  8. chronosghost

    chronosghost Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    thanks misterd, the problem has solution, tep by step . Fantastic notice .
     
  9. xurr

    xurr Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Italy
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Has this fix been committed to some recent TVE3 SVN release?

    ...in any case, thanks again for the fix!
     
  10. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    No, the patch is still not in SVN. We have to wait and hope that someday it will be committed to SVN.

    MisterD
     
  11. chemelli
    • Premium Supporter

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    misterd,

    thanks a lot for the patch. I will download it and compile the source.

    Just two more questions:

    1) Did you try with SVN 16310 or it's now committed ?
    2) Have you managed to have working the analog part ? I scan channels but nothing is found...

    Thanks again for your work.

    Simone
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!