iPlayer "error getting dynamic categories" | Page 2

Discussion in 'OnlineVideos' started by Efros, October 31, 2014.

  1. robcarter

    robcarter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    hi
    i started mediaportal, selected online videos, the update box came up, but I still get the error, live tv fails with a no data message. Logs attached


     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Brownard
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brownard Development Group

    Joined:
    March 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    789
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,326 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You've definitely still got the old version of iPlayer. It looks like OV fails to update your sites, are you running the latest version of OV? Maybe @offbyone can help?

    Live streams aren't currently working, I will try and look into this when I get some time.
     
  4. robcarter

    robcarter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Thanks, I'm using the latest online videos, and mp 1.7.1
     
  5. offbyone
    • Team MediaPortal

    offbyone Development Group

    Joined:
    April 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +3,303 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I'll need debug logs from an MP run where OV tries to update the sites.
    A wild guess would be you are runnign win7 uac enabled and MP has no rights to update the dlls, so normally an UAV prompt would show up (unless you have MP set to always on top?)
     
  6. robcarter

    robcarter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Hi
    I turned off UAC, rebooted and tried an update, the update site box appeared but I still get the "error getting dynamic categories" box. logs attached. Interestingly if I try and access the site manager form OV i get a blank screen, is this normal?
    *EDIT, logs re-uploaded with debug setting in MP
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: November 3, 2014
  7. offbyone
    • Team MediaPortal

    offbyone Development Group

    Joined:
    April 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +3,303 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  8. robcarter

    robcarter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    that was the problem, i run a smoothwall firewall, and squid was blocking the http request for some reason, i added a rule to iptables and that sorted the problem.
    thanks for your help
     
  9. Threarah
    • Premium Supporter

    Threarah MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Just a minor issue - the A-Z category doesn't seem to be working properly - selecting a letter returns an empty list.
     
  10. Brownard
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brownard Development Group

    Joined:
    March 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    789
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,326 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, this should now be fixed
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. scotstrength

    scotstrength Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 5, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Anyone experiencing problems again?
    I just installed online videos for the first time in years and updated both MP to 1.9 and OV and now the only thing which plays is ITV,
    BBC content cannot be found?
    I did some googling and it seems the BeeB has changed from RSS feeds to their own API called Nitro - http://iplayerhelp.external.bbc.co.uk/tv/feeds
    Does this mean we no longer have the ability to access Iplayer via any source apart from through a browser?
    Anyone got any fixes in the pipeline?

    Thoughts??
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!